Findings under the Privacy Act

Veteran’s complaint highlights significant privacy issues

A veteran filed a complaint with our Office alleging that Veterans Affairs Canada had violated the Privacy Act by using his personal information inappropriately when it included excessively detailed and sensitive medical information in briefing notes to the Minister of Veterans Affairs. 

The complainant also alleged that the department had transferred his medical file to a hospital administered by Veterans Affairs without his consent.

The incidents referred to in the complaint occurred in 2005 and 2006.

Background

The investigation confirmed that several briefing notes prepared for the Minister of Veterans Affairs contained sensitive medical information concerning the complainant.  As well, the notes included significant detail about how the complainant interacted with the department, not only as a client but also as an advocate for veterans.

The investigation also determined that officials from numerous branches at Veterans Affairs, including Program Policy, Communications and Media Relations, were involved in discussing and contributing to the content of the briefing notes and also had full access to them.

On the second issue raised in the complaint, the investigation found that the department sent several large volumes of the complainant’s personal and medical information to a hospital that it administers.  This material included medical reports, letters between the complainant and the department, as well as a briefing note prepared for the minister.

Veterans Affairs stated that it transferred the information to the hospital in order to establish his suitability for referral to a treatment program offered there. Departmental guidelines required clients to complete a Release of Information Form authorizing such transfers. However, this was not done.

Findings

The investigation determined that the volume and sensitivity of personal information, including medical information, contained within two briefing notes to the minister was excessive and went far beyond what was necessary for the stated purpose of the briefings.

While there were other briefing notes containing personal information, those were prepared for the purpose of a ministerial response to particular issues raised by the complainant and therefore the content appeared appropriate.

One of the notes that raised serious concerns was prepared in March 2006 in order to brief the Minister on the complainant’s participation in a Parliament Hill press conference to discuss issues related to veterans.  In addition to briefing the Minister on the complainant’s advocacy activities, the note contained considerable sensitive medical information including, diagnosis, symptoms, prognosis, chronology of interactions with the department as a client, amounts of financial benefits received, frequency of appointments, and recommended treatment plans.  The complainant had provided this information to the department in relation to an application for veterans’ benefits.

Several months later, Veterans Affairs re-used and updated the detailed briefing note from March 2006 with the intent to brief the Minister on a specific treatment/benefit issue.

Also of deep concern was the way in which the complainant’s personal information was widely shared between branches of Veterans Affairs in the preparation of briefing notes.  Sensitive personal information was inappropriately shared with departmental officials who would normally require only very limited or no access to medical information in fulfilling their duties. In fact, they had no need to know the complainant’s medical information in order to add their contribution to the briefing notes.

On the second issue referred to in the complaint, the investigation found that the complainant had never provided consent for his information to be transferred to the hospital.

In both matters raised in the complaint, the investigation found that Veterans Affairs’ use of the complainant’s personal and medical information was not in accordance with section 7 of the Act, which states that personal information under the control of a government department shall not, without an individual’s consent, be used by the department except for the purpose for which the information was obtained or compiled, or for a use consistent with that purpose. 

Accordingly, the complaint was well-founded.

Recommendations

As a result of this investigation as well as information that has come to light through media reports and telephone calls from other individuals, the Office of the Privacy Commissioner has significant privacy concerns about the use of sensitive medical information within Veterans Affairs.  The Office is particularly concerned about the apparent lack of controls to protect sensitive medical information from being widely accessed and disseminated within the department. 

The Office has reminded Veterans Affairs of its obligations under the Privacy Act and, in particular, that the use of personal information must be appropriately limited and proportionate to the operations of the institution in order to be in accordance with section 7 of the Act.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner has issued the following formal recommendations to Veterans Affairs Canada:

  • Take immediate steps to develop an enhanced privacy policy framework with adequate protections and controls to regulate access to personal information within the department.
  • Revise existing information-management practices and policies to ensure that personal information is shared within the department on a need-to-know basis only.  Personal information, including but not limited to sensitive medical information, should not be shared with programs that have no operational requirements for access to such information.
  • Provide training for employees about appropriate personal information-handling practices.
  • Review procedures to ensure that consent is obtained prior to personal information being transferred to veterans’ hospitals.

Next Steps

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner believes there is a possibility that this case may be an indication of a more systemic privacy issue within Veterans Affairs.

During the investigation, officials did not satisfy the Office that the department currently has adequate policies and procedures in place to govern the handling of veterans’ personal information.  As well, officials could not clearly identify or explain policies, procedures or typical information-sharing practices.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner has also become aware – through media reports as well as information provided by individuals who have contacted the Office – about other allegations of personal information being handled inappropriately.

As a result, the Office of the Privacy Commissioner has determined that it is appropriate to conduct an audit to examine the way in which the department handles the personal information of veterans to ensure compliance with federal privacy legislation.

Conclusions en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

La plainte d'un ancien combattant met en lumière des questions importantes liées à la protection de la vie privée

Un ancien combattant a déposé une plainte au Commissariat alléguant qu’Anciens Combattants Canada a transgressé la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels en utilisant ses renseignements personnels de façon inappropriée lorsqu’il a inséré des renseignements médicaux trop détaillés et délicats dans des notes d’information destinées au ministre des Anciens Combattants.

Le plaignant affirme également que le Ministère a envoyé son dossier médical à l’hôpital géré par Anciens Combattants sans son consentement.

Les incidents mentionnés dans la plainte ont eu lieu en 2005 et en 2006.

Contexte

L’enquête a permis de confirmer que plusieurs notes d’information destinées au ministre des Anciens Combattants comprenaient des renseignements médicaux de nature délicate concernant le plaignant. De plus, les notes indiquaient en détail comment le plaignant interagissait avec le Ministère, non seulement en tant que client, mais aussi en tant que défenseur des anciens combattants.

L’enquête a aussi permis de conclure que les fonctionnaires de nombreux secteurs d’Anciens Combattants Canada, y compris Politiques en matière de programmes, Communications et Relations avec les médias, ont participé aux discussions, ont contribué au contenu des notes d’information et avaient un accès illimité à celles‑ci.

Pour ce qui est de la deuxième question soulevée dans la plainte, l’enquête a révélé que le Ministère a envoyé une grande quantité de renseignements personnels et médicaux du plaignant à un hôpital qu’il gère. Ces documents comprenaient des rapports médicaux, des lettres échangées entre le plaignant et le Ministère ainsi qu’une note d’information destinée au ministre.

Anciens Combattants Canada affirme avoir transmis l’information à l’hôpital dans le but de déterminer si le plaignant était apte à suivre un programme de traitement qui y est offert. Les lignes directrices du Ministère prévoient que les clients doivent remplir un formulaire pour autoriser de telles communications, ce qui n’a pas été fait.

Constatations

L’enquête a révélé que les renseignements personnels compris dans deux notes d’information destinées au ministre, notamment les renseignements médicaux, étaient trop nombreux et de nature trop délicate. Ils dépassaient largement les renseignements nécessaires pour atteindre les objectifs visés par les notes d’information. D’autres notes d’information comprenaient des renseignements personnels, mais elles étaient préparées pour que le ministre puisse aborder des questions particulières soulevées par le plaignant. Leur contenu semblait donc approprié.

Une des notes qui a suscité d’importantes préoccupations a été rédigée en mars 2006 afin d’aviser le ministre que le plaignant participerait à une conférence de presse sur la Colline du Parlement pour aborder des enjeux liés aux anciens combattants. En plus d’informer le ministre sur les activités de défense des intérêts des anciens combattants menées par le plaignant, cette note comprenait beaucoup de renseignements médicaux délicats, y compris un diagnostic, des symptômes, un pronostic, la chronologie des interactions avec le Ministère en tant que client, le montant des prestations financières reçues, la fréquence des rendez‑vous et les plans de traitement recommandés. Le plaignant avait soumis ces renseignements au Ministère dans le cadre d’une demande de prestations destinées aux anciens combattants.

Plusieurs mois plus tard, Anciens Combattants Canada a réutilisé et mis à jour la note d’information détaillée de mars 2006 dans l’intention d’informer le ministre sur une question très précise liée aux traitements/prestations.

Le fait que les renseignements personnels du plaignant aient été largement diffusés entre les secteurs d’Anciens Combattants Canada aux fins de la préparation des notes d’information est aussi très préoccupant. Des renseignements personnels de nature délicate ont été échangés de façon inappropriée par des fonctionnaires du Ministère qui n’auraient normalement besoin que d’un accès très limité ou nul aux renseignements médicaux pour assumer leur fonction. En fait, il n’était pas du tout nécessaire de connaître les renseignements médicaux du plaignant pour contribuer à la préparation des notes d’information.

En ce qui a trait à la deuxième question soulevée dans la plainte, l’enquête a permis de déterminer que le plaignant n’a jamais consenti à ce que ses renseignements personnels soient transmis à l’hôpital.

L’enquête a permis de déterminer qu’en ce qui concerne les deux questions soulevées dans la plainte, l’utilisation des renseignements personnels et médicaux du client par Anciens Combattants Canada enfreignait l’article 7 de la Loi, en vertu duquel les renseignements personnels relevant d’un ministère ne peuvent servir, à défaut du consentement de l’individu concerné, qu’aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis ou compilés de même que pour les usages qui sont compatibles avec ces fins.

Par conséquent, la plainte était fondée.

Recommandations

À la suite de l’enquête et à la lumière de renseignements provenant de reportages médiatiques et d’appels téléphoniques de la part d’autres personnes, le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée a de sérieuses préoccupations relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels en ce qui a trait à l’utilisation de renseignements médicaux de nature délicate au sein d’Anciens Combattants Canada. Le Commissariat est particulièrement préoccupé par ce qui semble être un manque de contrôles visant à restreindre l’accès à grande échelle à des renseignements médicaux de nature délicate et leur diffusion au sein du Ministère. 

Le Commissariat a rappelé à Anciens Combattants Canada ses obligations en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et, en particulier, que l’utilisation de renseignements personnels doit être limitée de façon appropriée et proportionnelle aux besoins opérationnels de l’institution afin de bien respecter l’article 7 de la Loi.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée a présenté à Anciens Combattants Canada les recommandations officielles suivantes :

  • Entreprendre immédiatement l’élaboration d’un cadre amélioré de protection des renseignements personnels ainsi que des mesures de protection et des contrôles adéquats visant à restreindre l’accès aux renseignements personnels au sein du Ministère.
  • Revoir les politiques et les pratiques de gestion de l’information en place afin de s’assurer que les renseignements personnels ne sont communiqués qu’aux employés du Ministère qui en ont véritablement besoin. Les renseignements personnels, dont les renseignements médicaux de nature délicate, ne devraient pas être communiqués à des programmes qui n’ont pas besoin d’y avoir accès dans le cadre de leurs activités.
  • Offrir aux employés une formation sur le traitement approprié des renseignements personnels.
  • Examiner les procédures afin de s’assurer que le consentement est obtenu de la personne avant le transfert des renseignements la concernant aux hôpitaux pour les anciens combattants.

Prochaines étapes

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée est d’avis que cette affaire pourrait être le signe d’un problème plus systémique en ce qui a trait à la protection des renseignements personnels au sein d’Anciens Combattants Canada.

Au cours de l’enquête, les personnes rencontrées n’ont pas convaincu le Commissariat que le Ministère dispose à l’heure actuelle de politiques et de pratiques adéquates pour encadrer le traitement des renseignements personnels des anciens combattants. De plus, ces personnes n’ont pas pu clairement nommer ni expliquer les politiques, les procédures et les pratiques courantes liées à la communication de renseignements.

En outre, par le biais de reportages et de renseignements fournis par des personnes qui ont communiqué avec nous, le Commissariat est maintenant au courant d’autres allégations concernant le traitement inapproprié de renseignements personnels.

C’est pourquoi le Commissariat estime qu’il est pertinent d’effectuer une vérification pour examiner la façon dont le Ministère traite les renseignements personnels des anciens combattants, afin de s’assurer que le tout est conforme aux lois fédérales en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.