Summaries of settled cases

Settled case summary #23

ARCHIVED - Caretaker reveals that tenant’s cheque has bounced

Complaint

A tenant complained that the caretaker of his apartment building told the other tenants in the building that his rent cheque had bounced.  After raising the matter with the building management firm, he remained concerned that the issue was not taken seriously.

Outcome

The caretaker and his wife denied discussing the matter with any of the other tenants.  However, another tenant confirmed that the caretaker’s wife had told her that the complainant’s cheque had bounced.  She also reported that the caretaker’s wife had disclosed other information to her, such as the amount of other tenants’ rent and when their rent was to be increased. 

The complainant noted that he would be satisfied if he received a letter of apology from the building management firm.  It duly complied.  In addition, the firm wrote to the caretaker and his wife reminding them not to discuss tenants’ personal information with other tenants.  The Office advised the firm that it needed to create a privacy policy in keeping with the requirements of the Act.

The Office and the complainant agreed that the matter should be considered settled.

Exemples de plaintes réglées

ARCHIVÉ - Conclusions de la commissaire

Exemple de plainte réglée en cours d'enquête #23

Un concierge divulgue le fait que le chèque d’un locataire était sans provision

Plainte

Un locataire s’est plaint que le concierge de son immeuble d’habitation ait divulgué aux autres locataires que son chèque pour le loyer était sans provision. Après avoir soulevé la question auprès de l’entreprise de gestion de l’immeuble, il demeurait inquiet à l'effet que la question ne soit pas prise au sérieux.

Résultat

Le concierge et sa femme ont nié avoir abordé cette question avec tout autre locataire. Toutefois, une locataire a confirmé que la femme du concierge lui avait confié que le chèque du plaignant était sans provision. Elle lui a également communiqué d’autres renseignements, tels que le montant du loyer d’autres locataires et le moment auquel il serait augmenté.

Le plaignant a indiqué qu’il serait satisfait s’il recevait une lettre d’excuses de la part de l’entreprise de gestion de l’immeuble, laquelle s’est exécutée. En outre, l’entreprise a écrit au concierge et à sa femme pour leur rappeler de ne pas discuter des renseignements personnels des locataires avec d’autres locataires. Le Commissariat a informé l’entreprise qu’elle devait rédiger une politique de confidentialité en conformité avec les exigences de la Loi.

Le Commissariat et le plaignant ont convenu que l’affaire devrait être considérée réglée.