Settled and Early Resolution Cases

Background

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada receives many inquiries and complaints from Canadians about issues on which the Privacy Commissioner has already issued a finding. Others contact the Office wanting us to find a solution to a privacy problem that they have encountered. Perhaps they want the organization to recognize its mistake and to fix the error, and want the Office to make this happen.

Dispute Resolution

The Office has been handling complaints using dispute resolution since January 2004. Formal findings, in which the Privacy Commissioner concludes that a complaint is well founded, not well founded or resolved, give the complainant the right to go to Federal Court. Many complainants, however, are not interested in pursuing these matters to court. They want their concerns addressed.

Occasionally, the complaint is the result of a miscommunication between the complainant and the organization and the Office works with each side to clarify issues. In other instances, the organization is not fully in compliance with PIPEDA. In those cases, the Office works with the organization to ensure that it is adhering to the law. For complaints where findings have already been issued on the matters raised, the Office brings this fact to the attention of the organization, and a prompt resolution is frequently the result.

Introduction of Settled and Early Resolution Summaries

Starting in January 2004, the Office introduced two types of complaint dispositions. Settled during the course of the investigation means that the Office has helped negotiate a solution during the course of the investigation that satisfies all parties. It should be stressed that the Office must be satisfied with the actions taken by the organization in order for a complaint to be considered settled. Early resolution is applied to situations where the issue is dealt with before a formal investigation is undertaken. The Privacy Commissioner does not issue formal findings in such instances.

Benefits

Not all complaints can or will be settled, of course. The Privacy Commissioner continues to issue formal findings, and some of these cases will go to Federal Court. Formal findings are a necessary tool in setting out the Office's position on privacy matters. However, where complaints can be resolved and compliance ensured without formal findings, the Office will seek to settle such matters. After all, dispute resolution is recognized as a good use of limited Office resources and taxpayer money by solving problems effectively and in a timely manner while still ensuring compliance with PIPEDA.

The following are examples of noteworthy cases where the result was improved personal information protection for Canadians or where the outcome serves a public education purpose. As with the summaries of the Commissioner's findings, complainants are not named, and the organizations are not identified. The Office of the Privacy Commissioner will be adding new settled and early resolution summaries on an ongoing basis.

Exemples de plaintes réglées rapidement et de plaintes réglées en cours d'enquête

Contexte

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada reçoit de nombreuses plaintes et demandes de renseignements des Canadiennes et des Canadiens sur des questions que la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée a déjà traitées. D'autres personnes nous demandent de trouver une solution à un problème qu'ils ont rencontré. Elles veulent peut-être amener l'organisme à reconnaître et corriger son erreur et demandent au Commissariat de prendre des mesures en ce sens.

Règlement de différends

Le Commissariat traite les plaintes par voie de règlement des différends depuis janvier 2004. Les conclusions officielles de la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée, qui précisent si une plainte est fondée, non fondée ou résolue, donnent au plaignant le droit de s'adresser à la Cour fédérale. Or, de nombreux plaignants préfèrent ne pas faire appel aux tribunaux. Ils veulent simplement qu'on réponde à leurs préoccupations.

La plainte découle parfois d'une mauvaise communication entre le plaignant et l'organisme, et le Commissariat s'emploie avec les deux parties à clarifier les enjeux. Dans d'autres cas, l'organisme ne se conforme pas à toutes les exigences de la LPRPDE. Le Commissariat travaille alors avec l'organisme pour s'assurer qu'il respecte la loi. Lorsque les plaintes se rapportent à des questions qui ont déjà fait l'objet de conclusions, le Commissariat porte celles-ci à l'attention de l'organisme, ce qui aboutit souvent à un règlement expéditif.

Introduction aux résumés de règlements en cours d'enquête et de règlements rapides

En janvier 2004, le Commissariat a adopté deux nouvelles façons de traiter les plaintes : le règlement en cours d'enquête et le règlement rapide. Dans le premier cas, le Commissariat aide à négocier, en cours d'enquête, une solution qui convient à toutes les parties. Il faut souligner que le Commissariat doit être satisfait des mesures prises par l'organisme pour considérer la plainte comme réglée. Dans le deuxième cas, la plainte est réglée avant le lancement d'une enquête officielle et la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée ne présente pas de conclusions officielles.

Avantages

Il est évidemment impossible de régler toutes les plaintes. La commissaire à la protection de la vie privée continue de tirer des conclusions officielles, et certaines de ces causes seront renvoyées à la Cour fédérale. Les conclusions officielles sont un outil nécessaire pour exposer la position du Commissariat sur les questions liées à la protection des renseignements personnels. Cependant, s'il est possible de régler les plaintes et d'assurer la conformité sans conclusions officielles, le Commissariat s'efforcera de procéder ainsi. Après tout, le règlement des différends est reconnu comme une utilisation judicieuse des ressources limitées du Commissariat et de l'argent des contribuables, car il permet de régler les problèmes de façon efficace et en temps opportun tout en assurant la conformité à la LPRPDE.

On trouvera ci�après des exemples de cas dont la résolution a aidé à améliorer la protection des renseignements personnels des Canadiennes et des Canadiens ou à éduquer le public. Comme dans le cas des résumés de conclusions d'enquête de la commissaire, les plaignants ne sont pas nommés et les organismes ne sont pas cités. Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée ajoutera, au fur et à mesure, de nouveaux résumés de règlements en cours d'enquête et de règlements rapides.