Guidelines

Privacy and Online Behavioural Advertising

Online behavioural advertising involves tracking consumers’ online activities, across sites and over time in order to deliver advertisements targeted to their inferred interests. Behavioural advertisers often use sophisticated algorithms to analyze the collected data, build detailed personal profiles of users, and assign them to various interest categories. Interest categories are used to present ads defined as relevant to users in those categories.

While advertising may help subsidize the delivery of free online content desired by most users, it is nevertheless essential that online advertising practices respect an individual’s privacy rights and consent choices.

Online behavioural advertising may be considered a reasonable purpose under the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), provided it is carried out under certain parameters, and is not made a condition of service for accessing and using the Internet, generally.

The following guidelines were developed to help the various types of organizations involved in online behavioural advertising ensure that their practices are fair, transparent and in compliance with PIPEDA. Any future complaints concerning online behavioural advertising would be assessed based on the specific facts of each individual case.


PIPEDA and Personal Information

PIPEDA defines personal information as “information about an identifiable individual”. Information will be about an identifiable individual where there is a serious possibility that an individual could be identified through the use of that information, alone or in combination with other available information.

A prominent strategic element of online behavioural advertising comes from the tailoring of advertisements based on an individual’s browsing activities, which could include purchasing patterns and search queries. Given the scope and scale of information collected, the powerful means available for gathering and analyzing disparate pieces of data and the personalized nature of the activity, it is reasonable to consider that there will often be a serious possibility that the information could be linked to an individual.

As such, we take the position that the information involved in online tracking and targeting for the purpose of serving behaviourally targeted advertising to individuals will generally constitute personal information.

PIPEDA and User Choice

PIPEDA requires an individual’s knowledge and consent for the collection, use, or disclosure of personal information. PIPEDA also requires that the purposes for which an individual’s information is to be collected, used or disclosed be explained in a clear and transparent manner. In addition, PIPEDA does recognize that the form of consent can vary: for example, express consent (opt-in) when dealing with sensitive information, and implied consent (opt-out) when the information is less sensitive. It is important to note that the sensitivity of information depends on the nature of the information and the context in which it is being collected, used or disclosed.

While obtaining consent in the online environment is not without its challenges, it is possible. Opt-out consent for online behavioural advertising could be considered reasonable providing that:

  • Individuals are made aware of the purposes for the practice in a manner that is clear and understandable – the purposes must be made obvious and cannot be buried in a privacy policy. Organizations should be transparent about their practices and consider how to effectively inform individuals of their online behavioural advertising practices, by using a variety of communication methods, such as online banners, layered approaches, and interactive tools;
  • Individuals are informed of these purposes at or before the time of collection and  provided with information about the various parties involved in online behavioural advertising;
  • Individuals are able to easily opt-out of the practice - ideally at or before the time the information is collected;
  • The opt-out takes effect immediately and is persistent;
  • The information collected and used is limited, to the extent practicable, to non-sensitive information (avoiding sensitive information such as medical or health information); and
  • Information collected and used is destroyed as soon as possible or effectively de-identified.

Restrictions

Inability to Decline

Any collection or use of an individual’s web browsing activity must be done with that person’s knowledge and consent. Therefore, if an individual is not able to decline the tracking and targeting using an opt-out mechanism because there is no viable possibility for them to exert control over the technology used, or if doing so renders a service unusable, then organizations should not be employing that type of technology for online behavioural advertising purposes. At present, this could include, for example, so-called zombie cookies, super cookies and device fingerprinting. Further information related to online tracking technologies can be found on our Web Tracking with Cookies fact sheet.

Tracking of Children

PIPEDA requires meaningful consent for the collection, use and disclosure of personal information. It is difficult to ensure meaningful consent from children to online behavioural advertising practices. Therefore, as a best practice, organizations should avoid tracking children and tracking on websites aimed at children.

Addressing the Challenges

By putting in place privacy-sensitive frameworks, organizations will promote consumer trust in their online activities.  Addressing the privacy concerns raised by online behavioural advertising is central to establishing and maintaining consumer confidence in the online world.

Related OPC Documents

The OPC has a number of related resources available on our website:

Updated in June 2012

Lignes directrices

La protection de la vie privée et la publicité comportementale en ligne

La publicité comportementale en ligne suppose le suivi des activités des consommateurs en ligne sur les sites Web au fil du temps afin de leur présenter des annonces ciblant leurs champs d’intérêt présumés. Les annonceurs qui ont recours à la publicité comportementale utilisent souvent des algorithmes sophistiqués pour analyser les données recueillies, établir des profils personnels détaillés d’utilisateurs et associer ces profils à différentes catégories de champs d’intérêt. Les utilisateurs d’une catégorie donnée se font ainsi présenter des annonces ciblées selon leurs champs d’intérêt présumés.

Même si la publicité peut aider à financer l’accès gratuit au contenu en ligne, ce que la plupart des utilisateurs recherchent, il est néanmoins essentiel que les pratiques de publicité en ligne respectent le droit à la vie privée et les choix en matière de consentement des personnes.

La publicité comportementale en ligne peut être considérée comme une activité raisonnable en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE), pourvu qu'elle soit effectuée sous certains paramètres, et qu’elle ne soit pas une condition de service généralisée pour accéder et utiliser l’Internet.

Les lignes directrices qui suivent ont été élaborées afin d’aider les divers types d’organisations qui font de la publicité comportementale en ligne à s’assurer que leurs pratiques soient justes, transparentes et conformes à la LPRPDE. Toute future plainte concernant la publicité comportementale en ligne serait évaluée en fonction des faits propres à chaque situation.


La LPRPDE et les renseignements personnels

Dans la LPRPDE, on entend par renseignement personnel « tout renseignement concernant un individu identifiable ». Les renseignements concerneront un individu identifiable dans le cas où il est très possible qu’un individu puisse être identifié par l’utilisation de ces renseignements, seuls ou en combinaison avec d’autres renseignements disponibles.

Un élément stratégique important de la publicité comportementale en ligne découle de la personnalisation des publicités selon l’activité de navigation sur Internet de la personne, ce qui comprend les habitudes d’achat et l’historique des recherches. Compte tenu de la portée et de l’envergure des renseignements recueillis, des moyens puissants qui permettent de regrouper et d’analyser des données disparates et le caractère personnalisé de l’activité, il est raisonnable de penser qu’il y aura souvent une forte possibilité que les renseignements puissent être liés à une personne.

À ce titre, nous considérerons que les renseignements touchés par le suivi et le ciblage en ligne dans le but d’offrir une publicité liée au suivi comportemental d’une personne seront habituellement considérés comme des renseignements personnels.

La LPRPDE et le choix de l’utilisateur

La LPRPDE exige qu’un individu soit informé de toute collecte, utilisation ou communication de renseignements personnels qui le concernent et qu’il y consente. La LPRPDE exige également que les fins pour lesquelles les renseignements personnels d’un individu sont recueillis, utilisés ou communiqués soient expliquées d’une manière claire et transparente. Par ailleurs, la LPRPDE reconnaît que la forme de consentement peut varier : par exemple, le consentement explicite (consentement positif) pour le traitement d’information sensible, et le consentement implicite (consentement négatif) lorsque l’information est moins sensible. Soulignons que la sensibilité de l’information dépend de sa nature et du contexte dans lequel elle est recueillie, utilisée ou communiquée.

Obtenir le consentement dans l’environnement en ligne peut représenter des défis, mais c’est possible. Le consentement négatif pour la publicité comportementale en ligne pourrait être jugé raisonnable dans la mesure où :

  • les personnes sont avisées des objectifs de la pratique de façon claire et compréhensible — ces objectifs doivent être manifestes et ne peuvent être enfouis dans une politique de protection de la vie privée. Les organisations devraient être transparentes quant à leurs pratiques et se demander comment elles peuvent informer efficacement les utilisateurs de leurs pratiques en matière de publicité comportementale en ligne à l’aide d’une variété de solutions de communication, comme l’utilisation de bannières en ligne, de technologies multicouches et d’outils interactifs;
  • les personnes sont informées de ces objectifs au plus tard au moment de la collecte et reçoivent de l’information sur les diverses parties qui participent au processus de publicité comportementale en ligne;
  • les personnes peuvent facilement renoncer à la pratique — idéalement au plus tard au moment où les renseignements sont recueillis;
  • la renonciation est immédiate et durable;
  • les renseignements recueillis et utilisés sont limités, dans la mesure du possible, aux renseignements non sensibles (éviter les renseignements sensibles comme les renseignements sur la condition médicale ou la santé);
  • les renseignements recueillis et utilisés sont détruits dans les plus brefs délais ou anonymisés efficacement.

Restrictions

Enlever la possibilité de donner son consentement

Une personne doit être informée de toute collecte ou utilisation des activités de navigation sur Internet et y consentir. Par conséquent, si une personne ne peut refuser le suivi et le ciblage, par un mécanisme de consentement négatif, ou parce qu’il n’existe aucun moyen viable de contrôler la technologie utilisée, ou parce qu’un refus rendrait le service inutilisable, les organisations ne doivent pas faire appel à ce type de technologie à des fins de publicité comportementale en ligne. À l’heure actuelle, cela pourrait inclure, par exemple, des témoins soi‑disant « zombie », des supertémoins et l’empreinte de l’appareil. D’autres renseignements sur les technologies de suivi en ligne figurent dans notre fiche d’information Les témoins et le suivi sur le Web.

Suivi des enfants

La LPRPDE exige un consentement éclairé pour la collecte, l'utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels. Il serait difficile d’obtenir le consentement éclairé d’un enfant à des fins de pratiques de publicité comportementale en ligne. Par conséquent, et comme pratique exemplaire, les organisations devraient éviter de suivre les enfants ou les sites Web destinés aux enfants.

Relever les défis

En adoptant des cadres pour assurer la protection de la vie privée, les organisations renforceront la confiance des consommateurs dans leurs activités en ligne. Il est primordial de s’attaquer aux risques d’atteinte à la vie privée soulevés par la publicité comportementale en ligne pour établir et conserver la confiance des consommateurs.

Documents du CPVP connexes

La CPVP offre certaines ressources connexes sur son site Web :

Mis à jour en juin 2012