Legal information related to PIPEDA

Learning from a Decade of Experience: Quebec's Private Sector Privacy Act (Updated)

In 1994, Québec became the first Canadian jurisdiction to adopt private-sector privacy legislation. As such, Québec’s Commission d’accès à l’information (CAI) and Québec courts have had more than ten years of experience interpreting and applying the various provisions of Québec’s Act Respecting the Protection of Personal Information in the Private Sector in a number of situations.

This rich body of jurisprudence has provided important insight for other jurisdictions overseeing private sector privacy compliance. In light of the fact that many jurisdictions today are facing similar privacy challenges, there is tremendous value in sharing knowledge and experience. Law-makers are struggling to adapt traditional legal concepts to the new realities brought on by rapidly advancing technologies. Decision-makers are constantly called upon to re-calibrate the balancing of social interests and values in an ever-expanding global economy.

As such, our Office set out to review and summarize Québec’s experience to date. As Québec’s Act Respecting the Protection of Personal Information in the Private Sector was deemed substantially similar to the Protection of Personal Information and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) in December 2003, learning from the experience of Québec and comparing our respective approaches may prove useful to our own Office.

We invite you to click on the link below to access Learning from a Decade of Experience: Quebec's Private Sector Privacy Act. Although we hope you will find this document useful, it is intended to be primarily descriptive in nature, and any additional legal commentary offered by the authors does not bind our Office.

Learning from A Decade of Experience: Quebec's Private Sector Privacy Act

Renseignements juridiques associés à la LPRPDE

Leçons tirées de dix ans d’expérience : La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé du Québec (mise à jour)

En 1994, le Québec est devenu la première administration canadienne à adopter une loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé. Ainsi, la Commission d’accès à l’information (CAI) et les tribunaux du Québec ont plus de dix ans d’expérience de l’interprétation et de l’application des dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé du Québec dans le cadre d’un certain nombre de situations.

L’importante jurisprudence qui en découle a été grandement utile à d’autres administrations surveillant le respect de la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé. Puisque bon nombre d’administrations font aujourd’hui face à des problèmes semblables, il est extrêmement important de partager les connaissances et les expériences. Les législateurs s’efforcent d’adapter les concepts juridiques traditionnels aux nouvelles réalités découlant des avancées rapides de la technologie. Les décideurs sont constamment appelés à rétablir l’équilibre entre les valeurs et les intérêts sociaux dans une économie mondiale en constante expansion.

Par conséquent, le Commissariat s’est engagé à examiner et à résumer les expériences du Québec à ce jour. Puisque la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé du Québec a été considérée comme essentiellement similaire à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) en décembre 2003, le fait de tirer des leçons des expériences du Québec et de comparer nos approches respectives pourrait servir au Commissariat.

Nous vous invitons à cliquer sur le lien ci-dessous pour consulter le document Leçons tirées de dix ans d’expérience : La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé du Québec. Même si ce document pourrait vous être utile, il est affiché à titre descriptif, et tout commentaire juridique supplémentaire des auteurs ne suppose aucune obligation du Commissariat.

Leçons tirées de dix ans d’expérience : la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur privé du Québec