Legal information related to PIPEDA

Leading by Example: Key Developments in the First Seven Years of PIPEDA

Since the inception of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), organizations have been adapting their business practices to comply with the Act, as well as similar new provincial standards as their customers grow increasingly concerned over the protection of their personal information. Meanwhile, the privacy landscape continues to evolve. Advances in information technology and the desire among business to compete globally have meant that the privacy challenges we face today are more complex than ever before.

Our Office’s understanding of the interpretation and application of PIPEDA continues to evolve as well. In the last seven years, we have investigated over 2600 individual complaints and have issued findings on many precedent-setting issues arising from the Act. The complaint mechanism has provided us with a window into how PIPEDA works in practice. With the aim of sharing the insights we have gained since the Act’s inception, on May 23, 2008, our Office launched Leading by Example: Key Developments in the First Seven Years of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), a document which highlights some of the leading case findings the Office of the Privacy Commissioner has released on a number of important issues.

As the issues profiled in our report reflect current and growing concerns for businesses and their customers alike, including increasing surveillance phenomenon, trans-border data flows, the prevalence of data breaches, and the proliferation of using information collected for secondary marketing purposes, we invite you to read Leading by Example in the hopes that the experience of others will help guide businesses in the development and application of their own privacy practices.

Leading by Example: Key Developments in the First Seven Years of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) (Printable Adobe version)

Renseignements juridiques associés à la LPRPDE

Tracer le chemin : Principaux développements au cours des sept premières années d’application de la LPRPDE

Depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE), les organisations ont modifié leurs pratiques commerciales afin de respecter la Loi ainsi que les nouvelles normes provinciales similaires, car leurs clients sont de plus en plus préoccupés par la protection de leurs renseignements personnels. Entre-temps, les choses continuent de changer sur le plan de la protection de la vie privée. Les percées dans le domaine des technologies de l’information et le désir des entreprises de soutenir la concurrence à l’échelle mondiale font que les problèmes liés à la protection de la vie privée auxquels nous faisons face aujourd’hui sont plus complexes que jamais.

La compréhension qu’a le Commissariat de l’interprétation et de l’application de la LPRPDE continue également d’évoluer. Au cours des sept dernières années, nous avons examiné plus de 2 600 plaintes individuelles et avons rendu des conclusions sur plusieurs enjeux découlant de la Loiet établissant des précédents. Le mécanisme de règlement des plaintes nous a permis de voir comment la LPRPDE fonctionne en pratique. Afin de partager les résultats que nous avons obtenus depuis l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi, le Commissariat a lancé le 23 mai 2008 le document Tracer le chemin : Principaux développements au cours des sept premières années d’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE), qui souligne certaines de ses principales conclusions sur des questions importantes.

Puisque les questions abordées dans notre rapport touchent les préoccupations grandissantes actuelles des entreprises et de leurs clients (p. ex. surveillance accrue, circulation transfrontalière des données, fréquence des atteintes à la protection des données, utilisation accrue des renseignements recueillis à des fins commerciales secondaires), nous vous invitons à lire le document Tracer le chemin et espérons que l’expérience des autres aidera les entreprises à élaborer et à mettre en œuvre leurs propres pratiques de protection des renseignements personnels.

Tracer le chemin : Principaux développements au cours des sept premières années d’application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE)(Version imprimable en pdf)