Appearances before Parliamentary Committees

Appearance before the Senate Standing Committee on Banking Trade and Commerce on the Review of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act

March 1, 2012
Ottawa, Ontario

Opening Statement by Jennifer Stoddart
Privacy Commissioner of Canada

(Check against delivery)


Good Morning Mr Chair.

Thank you for inviting me to appear before this committee. I am pleased to have the opportunity to share my comments on the Review of the Proceeds of Crime (Money Laundering) and Terrorist Financing Act.

I am accompanied today by two of my experienced officials, Carman Baggaley, strategic privacy advisor, and Mike Fagan, manager in the Audit and Review Branch.

My Office has commented frequently on this Act and its associated anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime. As such, we appeared before your committee in 2006 to comment on Bill C-25, which significantly expanded the number of organizations covered by the Act and the types of transactions subject to scrutiny and reporting.

Bill C-25 also gave my Office a statutory mandate to conduct a biennial review of measures taken by the Financial Transactions and Reports Analysis Centre (FINTRAC) to protect information it receives or collects. Our first audit report was published in 2009 and we are currently conducting our second review.

General concerns with the anti money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime

I would now like to discuss some of my general concerns regarding the anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime. We know that money laundering supports criminal activities. As well, we are certainly aware that the financing of terrorist groups leads to an increased threat to our security. That said, my concerns with respect to the current regime have remained consistent over the years:

  • Although the regime cost over half a billion taxpayer dollars to implement – and this does not include the cost borne by the private sector to fulfill its obligations – it is not transparent and is not widely understood by the public;
  • FINTRAC operates what is probably Canada’s largest data-mining undertaking. The personal information collected allows FINTRAC to create a comprehensive profile of an individual's life and behaviour. Moreover, our 2009 audit report found that FINTRAC received and retained information beyond its legislative authority;
  • Over 300,000 reporting entities are currently required to collect specified information and maintain detailed records on their clients’ identities and transactions – which are not needed for their business purposes – all the while making speculative assessments based on their customers’ transactions;
  • The threat of fines for failing to report creates an incentive to over report information. Indeed, our audit report found cases of Suspicious Transaction Reports sent to FINTRAC, which actually did not meet the threshold of “reasonable grounds to suspect” that the transaction was related to money laundering or terrorist financing;
  • Finally, and perhaps most importantly, while the scope of the regime has expanded significantly since 2000, assessing the necessity, the proportionality and the effectiveness of the measures put in place has remained very difficult both for my Office and for other observers.

Even the “10-Year Evaluation of Canada’s Anti-Money Laundering and Anti-Terrorist Financing Regime” Report, which otherwise endorses the regime, is unable to assess how many investigations led to actual charges and convictions. In fact, it could only conclude that the regime likely contributed to the creation of an environment hostile to money-laundering and terrorist financing. This does not appear to be conclusive evidence.

Specific concerns with the proposed amendments

I would now like to turn to some of the specific concerns we have about the proposals contained in the Department of Finance Consultation Paper.

Eliminating the $10,000 Electronic Funds Transfers Threshold

One of the proposals in the Paper seeks to eliminate the $10,000 threshold which triggers the reporting obligation to FINTRAC of an electronic funds transfer, or EFTs. If the proposal were to be adopted, reporting entities would be required to report all EFTs entering or leaving Canada.

Beyond the very pragmatic issue of how to handle and safeguard the sheer volume of EFTs to be reported – which in and of itself is a cause for concern – I expect many ordinary Canadians to be deeply affected by such a measure.

Think of the naturalized Canadian citizens who regularly send remittances to family members in other countries. According to the most recently available data from Statistics Canada, 1 in 5 Canadians were born outside the country. Think of the small and medium enterprises that sell goods and services in other countries. Think of the parents who are sending money to their children studying abroad. The majority of EFTs in these cases would presumably fall below the $10,000 threshold.

Even if a case could be made for lowering the threshold to detect more terrorist financing, I would suggest that capturing large numbers of harmless transactions constitutes a significant unintended consequence that would be disproportionate to the intended objective of the proposal.

Prepaid Access Devices

Another proposal deals with prepaid access devices. These would include retail gift cards, prepaid cards issued by financial institutions, and mobile payment devices.

As an attempt to tackle potential money laundering and terrorist financing risks posed by prepaid access products, the government proposes to impose customer due diligence requirements on the providers of prepaid access devices.

Introducing customer due diligence requirements would result in the increased collection of personal information. Given the popularity of prepaid access devices, to require providers of these products to obtain identifying information would be a significant undertaking. It would potentially extend customer due diligence obligations to an even greater number of organizations – many presumably in the retail sector – and require them to collect and create large databases of personal information that they do not need for internal business purposes.

If the Government is convinced that it needs to address the risk created by the growth of prepaid access products, I would strongly suggest that it consider measures that do not necessitate the additional collection of personal information and the creation of databases.

For instance, a 2010 Report by the Financial Action Task Force suggests that the risk posed by an anonymous product can be effectively mitigated by measures other than identification and verification procedure, such as imposing value limits.

Expanding the Information Contained in FINTRAC Disclosures

The 2000 legislation had built-in safeguards that limited the information that FINTRAC could provide to law enforcement and other authorities. However, these safeguards have been gradually weakened. The Act has been expanded to allow FINTRAC to share information with the Communications Security Establishment, the RCMP, CSIS, the Canada Revenue Agency, the Canada Border Services Agency and Citizenship and Immigration.

It is now proposed that FINTRAC be permitted to, and in some cases, required to share more information with law enforcement and intelligence agencies.

The government did not provide any compelling arguments to justify expanding the amount of information and the number of agencies to which the information can be provided. I am of the view it should do so before moving forward with this proposal.

Moreover, if FINTRAC were to be given the ability to share more information with more organizations, the Government should also consider increasing oversight of FINTRAC to ensure these disclosures are appropriate. My Office has responsibility for conducting audits every 2 years, but this is retrospective and not the same as operational oversight.

Broadening the Requirement to Report Suspicious Transactions

The legislation currently requires reporting entities to report suspicious transactions as well as completed or attempted financial transactions that give rise to a suspicion of money laundering or terrorist financing.

As I already mentioned, this has always been one of the most troubling aspects of the Act because it requires reporting entities to make judgments about the motives of their clients and customers. We are not aware of any other legislation that imposes similar requirements on this scale.

It is now proposed that a suspicious transaction be redefined to include an activity undertaken for the purpose of a financial transaction that gives rise to a suspicion of money laundering or terrorist financing.

While this proposal is presented as a simple clarification of the current definition, it would presumably encompass activities that can occur before a financial transaction is actually made, such as opening an account. This will further increase the likelihood of over reporting.

I would suggest that the Government may wish to address the issue of over reporting before considering new measures that could exacerbate the problem further.

Conclusion

I would like to reiterate that I recognize the objective of combating money laundering and terrorist financing. I also understand that Canada has international commitments to honour.

However, I am concerned that Canada’s anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime would again be expanded without any clear assessment of whether these changes are needed to address domestic problems.

Canada already has an expensive, secretive and intrusive regime that collects – and over collects – vast amounts of personal information about Canadians while failing, so far, to provide conclusive evidence as to its effectiveness and its impact on Canadians.

In fact, rather than considering further changes to the Act, it may be time to fully assess the effectiveness of the regime and to explore whether other measures could be more demonstrably efficient and less privacy intrusive to combat money laundering and terrorist financing.

If it is the Government’s view that additional changes to the regime are absolutely necessary for law enforcement and national security purposes, it is important that the Government provide public justifications for these changes, supported by data and evidence. Increasingly sophisticated forms of surveillance require increasingly higher thresholds of justification, and I would suggest that the case has not yet been made to justify the proposed changes to Canada’s anti-money laundering and anti-terrorist financing regime.

And with that, I look forward to your questions.

Comparutions devant les comités parlementaires

Comparution devant le Comité sénatorial permanent des banques et du commerce au sujet de l'Examen de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes

Le 1er mars 2012
Ottawa (Ontario)

Déclaration prononcée par Jennifer Stoddart
Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada

(Le texte prononcé fait foi)


Bonjour Monsieur le Président,

Je vous remercie de m’avoir invitée à comparaître devant le Comité. Je suis heureuse d’avoir l’occasion de faire quelques commentaires au sujet de la Loi sur le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes.

Je suis accompagnée aujourd’hui par deux représentants expérimentés du Commissariat : Carman Baggaley, conseiller stratégique en protection des renseignements personnels, et Mike Fagan, gestionnaire à la Direction de la vérification et de la revue.

Le Commissariat a souvent abordé la question de cette loi et du régime de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes qui y est lié. Ainsi, nous nous sommes présentés devant le Comité en 2006 pour parler du projet de loi C‑25, qui augmentait considérablement le nombre d’organisations assujetties à la Loi et les types de transactions qui pouvaient être examinées et signalées.

Le projet de loi C‑25 donnait aussi au Commissariat le mandat statutaire d’examiner chaque semestre les mesures prises par le Centre d’analyse des opérations et déclarations financières du Canada (CANAFE) dans le but de protéger les renseignements reçus ou recueillis. Nous avons publié notre premier rapport de vérification en 2009 et nous menons actuellement le deuxième examen.

Préoccupations générales au sujet du régime de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes

Je voudrais maintenant parler de certaines de mes préoccupations générales concernant le régime de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes. Nous sommes conscients que le blanchiment d’argent appuie des activités criminelles et que le financement des groupes terroristes menace notre sécurité. Malgré tout, mes inquiétudes liées à ce régime sont les mêmes depuis quelques années :

  • Même si le régime coûte plus d’un demi-milliard de dollars aux contribuables — ce qui ne comprend même pas l’argent déboursé par le secteur privé pour respecter ses obligations — il n’est pas assez transparent et le grand public ne comprend pas de quoi il s’agit.
  • Le CANAFE dirige probablement la plus grande entreprise d’exploration de données au Canada. Les renseignements personnels recueillis par le CANAFE permettent de dresser un portrait complet de la vie ou du comportement d’une personne. De plus, notre rapport de vérification de 2009 a permis de découvrir que le CANAFE recevait et conservait des renseignements personnels qui dépassaient son pouvoir législatif.
  • Plus de 300 000 entités déclarantes sont tenues de recueillir des renseignements précis et de conserver des dossiers détaillés sur l’identité et les transactions de leurs clients — des renseignements dont ils n’ont pas besoin dans le cadre de leurs activités opérationnelles — en plus de faire des évaluations hypothétiques fondées sur les transactions des consommateurs.
  • La menace d’imposer des amendes pour avoir omis un signalement incite les entités à fournir trop d’information. En effet, notre rapport de vérification signale des cas où des déclarations d’opérations douteuses ont été envoyées au CANAFE même s’il n’y avait pas de motifs raisonnables de soupçonner un blanchiment d’argent ou le financement d’activités terroristes.
  • Enfin, le plus important peut‑être est que, même si la portée du régime est beaucoup plus vaste qu’en 2000, il demeure très difficile pour le Commissariat et pour d’autres observateurs d’évaluer la nécessité, la proportionnalité et l’efficacité des mesures qui ont été prises.

Même le rapport de l’« Évaluation décennale du Régime canadien de lutte contre le recyclage des produits de la criminalité et le financement des activités terroristes », qui approuve les autres aspects du Régime, ne permet pas d’évaluer combien d’enquêtes ont mené à des accusations et à des condamnations. En fait, la seule conclusion possible est que le régime contribue vraisemblablement à la création d’un contexte défavorable au blanchiment d’argent et au financement d’activités terroristes. Cette preuve ne semble pas concluante.

Préoccupations particulières relatives aux modifications proposées

Je vais maintenant porter mon attention sur les préoccupations particulières soulevées par les propositions mentionnées dans le document de consultation du ministère des Finances.

Suppression du seuil de 10 000 dollars pour les virements électroniques

Une des propositions mentionnées dans le document consiste à supprimer le seuil de 10 000 dollars qui impose l’obligation de signaler un virement électronique au CANAFE. Si la proposition est adoptée, les entités déclarantes seront tenues de signaler tous les virements électroniques à destination ou en provenance du Canada.

Sans parler de la question très pragmatique du traitement et de la protection d’une si grande quantité de virements électroniques à signaler — qui suffit à soulever des inquiétudes — je m’attends à ce que de nombreux Canadiens et Canadiennes ordinaires soient très affectés par une telle mesure.

Il suffit de penser aux citoyens canadiens naturalisés qui envoient régulièrement des fonds à des membres de leur famille dans d’autres pays, aux petites et moyennes entreprises qui vendent des biens et des services à l’échelle internationale ou aux parents qui envoient de l’argent à leurs enfants qui étudient à l’étranger. Selon les plus récentes données disponibles de Statistiques Canada, un Canadien sur cinq est né à l’étranger. On peut présumer que la majorité de ces virements électroniques sont inférieurs au seuil de 10 000 dollars.

Même si on peut soutenir que la baisse du seuil permettrait de détecter plus d’opérations de financement terroriste, je crois que l’enregistrement d’un grand nombre de transactions inoffensives serait une conséquence involontaire importante et disproportionnée par rapport à l’objectif de la proposition.

Appareils d’accès prépayés

Une autre proposition traite des appareils d’accès prépayés, qui comprennent les cartes‑cadeaux vendues chez les détaillants, les cartes prépayées émises par les institutions financières et les dispositifs de paiement mobiles.

Afin de s’attaquer aux risques de blanchiment d’argent et de financement des activités terroristes que posent les produits d’accès prépayés, le gouvernement propose d’imposer des exigences de diligence raisonnable à l’égard des clients aux fournisseurs d’appareils d’accès prépayés.

La mise en place d’exigences de diligence raisonnable à l’égard des clients aurait comme résultat d’augmenter la quantité de renseignements personnels recueillis. Compte tenu de la popularité des appareils d’accès prépayés, le fait d’exiger des fournisseurs de ces produits qu’ils obtiennent des renseignements personnels représenterait une entreprise d’envergure. Aussi, les obligations de diligence raisonnable à l’égard de la clientèle pourraient s’appliquer à un plus grand nombre d’organismes, notamment ceux du secteur de la vente au détail, qui devraient alors créer de vastes fonds de renseignements personnels dont ils n’ont pas besoin dans le cadre de leurs activités internes.

Si le gouvernement est convaincu qu’il doit traiter des risques créés par la popularité croissante des produits d’accès prépayés, je l’encourage fortement à envisager de prendre des mesures qui ne nécessitent pas la collecte supplémentaire de renseignements personnels et la création de fonds de renseignements.

Par exemple, le rapport de 2010 du Groupe d’action financière suggère que les risques posés par un produit anonyme peuvent être atténués de façon efficace par des mesures autres que les procédures d’identification et de vérification, par exemple l’imposition de limites de valeur.

Augmenter la quantité de renseignements contenus dans les divulgations de CANAFE

La loi de 2000 comprenait des mesures de protection qui limitaient l’information que pouvait fournir le CANAFE aux organismes d’application de la loi et aux autres autorités. Toutefois, ces mesures de protection se sont affaiblies de façon graduelle. La Loi a été élargie pour permettre au CANAFE de communiquer des renseignements au Centre de la sécurité des télécommunications, à la GRC, au SCRS, à l’ARC, à l’Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et à Citoyenneté et Immigration.

On propose maintenant que le CANAFE soit autorisé et, dans certains cas, obligé, de communiquer plus d’information aux organismes d’application de la loi et aux organismes de renseignements.

Le gouvernement n’a pas fourni d’arguments probants pour justifier l’augmentation de la quantité d’information et le nombre d’organismes qui peuvent recevoir l’information. Je suis d’avis qu’il devrait le faire avant d’aller de l’avant avec cette proposition.

De plus, si l’on donne au CANAFE la capacité de communiquer plus de renseignements à plus d’organisations, le gouvernement devrait également envisager de surveiller le CANAFE de plus près pour veiller à ce que ces communications soient appropriées. Il incombe au Commissariat de mener des vérifications tous les deux ans, mais il s’agit là de vérifications rétrospectives qui ne sont pas de la même nature qu’une surveillance opérationnelle.

Élargir l’exigence relative au signalement des transactions douteuses

À l’heure actuelle, la loi exige des entités déclarantes qu’elles signalent les transactions douteuses, de même que les transactions financières qui ont été effectuées ou qu’on a tenté d’effectuer et qui donnent à penser qu’il y a peut‑être eu blanchiment d’argent ou financement d’activités terroristes.

Comme je l’ai déjà mentionné, il s’agit d’une des facettes les plus troublantes de la Loi, puisqu’elle demande aux entités déclarantes de formuler des jugements à propos des motifs de leur clientèle. Nous ne connaissons pas d’autre loi qui impose des exigences semblables de cette ampleur.

On propose maintenant de redéfinir les transactions douteuses pour inclure les activités entreprises aux fins d’une transaction financière qui laissent croire au blanchiment d’argent ou au financement d’activités terroristes.

Bien que cette proposition soit présentée pour clarifier la définition actuelle, elle comprendra sans doute des activités qui peuvent survenir avant la transaction financière, comme l’ouverture d’un compte, ce qui augmenterait davantage la probabilité de recueillir trop d’information.

Je suggère au gouvernement qu’il traite de la question de la collecte excessive de renseignements avant d’envisager de nouvelles mesures qui risqueraient d’aggraver le problème.

Conclusion

Je tiens à réitérer que je comprends le but du régime de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes. Je comprends aussi que le Canada doit respecter ses engagements internationaux à cet égard.

Cependant, je m’inquiète du fait que le régime canadien de lutte contre le blanchiment d’argent et le financement des activités terroristes sera encore élargi sans qu’on détermine clairement si ces changements sont requis pour régler les problèmes nationaux.

Le Canada a déjà en place un régime coûteux, opaque et intrusif qui recueille — et recueille de façon excessive — de grandes quantités de renseignements personnels sur la population canadienne tout en omettant, jusqu’à maintenant, de fournir des preuves concluantes relativement à son efficacité et ses effets sur les Canadiennes et les Canadiens.

En fait, plutôt que d’envisager de nouvelles modifications à la Loi, il serait peut-être temps d’évaluer entièrement l’efficacité du régime et d’examiner si d’autres mesures de lutte contre le blanchiment et le financement d’activités terroristes pourraient être efficaces et moins envahissantes pour la vie privée.

Si le Gouvernement croit que des changements additionels au régime sont absolument nécessaires pour la mise en application de la loi ou encore de mesures de sécurité national, il serait important qu’il puisse fournir publiquement des justifications à ces changements, lesquels seraient appuyés par des données et des preuves. Toujours plus sophistiqués, les moyens de surveillance demandent un seuil de justification plus élevé et c’est pourquoi je suggère qu’il n’y a pas encore eu de démonstrations sans équivoque qui justifieraient ces changements proposés au régime canadien de blanchiement d’argent et du financement des activités terroristes.

Je suis maintenant disposée à répondre à vos questions.