Fact Sheets

Accessing Personal Information under PIPEDA

Frequently Asked Questions

What is personal information?

Under the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), personal information is defined as “information about an identifiable individual, but does not include the name, title or business address or telephone number of an employee of an organization.” The definition is broad and can include a wide range of information. For example, your financial transaction histories, your credit history, other people’s opinions about you, photographs of you, your fingerprints or voice prints, your blood type, video or audio footage where you appear or are heard – these are a few examples of information that can be considered personal information.

Can I ask a company for my personal information?

Yes. PIPEDA gives you a general right to access personal information that organizations hold about you.

How do I ask for my personal information?

You need to put your request to the organization in writing. It is a good idea to provide sufficient information and be as specific as possible, because that will help speed up the process at their end. The information you provide to support your request can only be used for the purpose of processing your request.

Can I get a copy of my personal information?

While you might typically receive a paper copy of the documents containing your personal information, the organization is not obliged by law to give you a copy. Rather, they are required to provide you with access to your personal information.

In some cases, you may be invited to simply go to the organization’s premises and access the material on site.

If you have a disability that requires a format other than paper or prevents you from accessing the material on site, you should advise the organization at the time of your access request.

How long should I expect the process to take?

Under the law, the organization is supposed to give you access to your personal information within 30 calendar days. If they don’t have it, they must advise you of this fact within those 30 days.

There are some very specific circumstances under which the organization may require an extension of up to 30 additional days. If that is the case, they have to advise you within the first 30 days and explain the reason for the delay. You have the right to complain about this delay to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

What if I find an error in my personal information?

You may request that any factual errors or omissions be corrected. You would typically have to provide some evidence to back up your claim. Under the law, an organization must amend the information as required if you successfully demonstrate that it’s incomplete or inaccurate.

If you and the organization can’t agree on changing the information, you have the right to have your concerns recorded.

If the organization has previously shared incorrect information with third parties, it must, where appropriate, forward the amended information (or the record of the unresolved challenge) to those parties, so that they too can correct their records.

Does it cost anything to access my personal information?

Ordinarily, it should cost you little or nothing to gain access to your personal information. The law requires an organization to respond to your request at minimal or no cost to you.

An organization may only charge you a minimal fee for responding if it has informed you of the approximate cost up front and you agree to proceed with the request at that cost.

If you feel that an organization is attempting to charge an unreasonable fee, you have the right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

Can I obtain access to the personal information of a family member?

Ordinarily, you may only request access to information about yourself. Organizations may withhold information that relates to a third party, such as a family member, or sever it from other personal information that relates to you.

If, however, the family member consents in writing to the release of the information or if you need the information because an individual’s life, health or security is threatened, then you may be entitled to access it.

Can a company deny my request for access to my personal information?

Yes. The law sets out a number of exceptions to your general right of access to your personal information.

There are, for example, circumstances under which the organization may choose to withhold some or all of the information. There are also circumstances under which organizations are forbidden by law from releasing the information.

Please refer to our guidance for further details.

If the organization denies part or my entire access request, do I have any recourse?

If you feel that the organization is withholding more information than it should, you have a right to file a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada.

However, before doing so, you should try to resolve the matter with the organization directly. Sometimes the problem stems from a simple oversight or a misunderstanding that can be easily corrected.

Fiches d'information

Accès aux renseignements personnels au titre de la LPRPDE

Foire aux questions

Qu’est-ce qu’un renseignement personnel?

Au titre de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE), on entend par « renseignement personnel »« [t]out renseignement concernant un individu identifiable, à l’exclusion du nom et du titre d’un employé d’une organisation et des adresse et numéro de téléphone de son lieu de travail ». La définition est large et peut inclure un vaste éventail de renseignements. Par exemple, vos historiques de transactions financières, votre historique de crédit, les opinions d’autres personnes à votre sujet, des photographies de vous, vos empreintes digitales ou votre signature vocale, votre groupe sanguin, un enregistrement vidéo ou audio où on vous voit ou vous entend – ce ne sont que quelques exemples de renseignements qui peuvent être considérés comme étant personnels.

Puis-je demander mes renseignements personnels à une entreprise?

Oui. La LPRPDE vous donne un droit général d’accès aux renseignements personnels que les organisations détiennent à votre sujet.

Comment dois-je procéder pour demander mes renseignements personnels?

Vous devez présenter votre demande par écrit à l’organisation. C’est une bonne idée de fournir suffisamment d’information et d’être le plus précis possible, parce que cela accélérera le processus de son côté. L’information que vous fournissez pour soutenir votre demande peut seulement être utilisée aux fins du traitement de la demande.

Puis-je obtenir une copie de mes renseignements personnels?

Même si, en général, vous recevrez une copie papier des documents contenant vos renseignements personnels, la loi n’oblige pas l’organisation à vous en remettre une copie. Elle doit plutôt vous fournir un accès à vos renseignements personnels.

Dans certains cas, vous pourriez être invité à vous rendre simplement dans les installations de l’organisation et avoir accès au matériel sur place.

Si vous avez un handicap qui exige un format autre que le papier ou qui vous empêche d’avoir accès au matériel sur place, vous devriez en informer l’organisation au moment de présenter votre demande d’accès.

Combien de temps le processus devrait-il prendre?

Au titre de la loi, l’organisation est censée vous donner l’accès à vos renseignements personnels dans les 30 jours civils. Si elle ne les a pas, elle doit vous en informer dans les 30 jours.

Il y a des circonstances très précises dans lesquelles l’organisation peut demander une prolongation de jusqu’à 30 jours supplémentaires. Si c’est le cas, elle doit vous en informer dans les 30 premiers jours et expliquer la raison du retard. Vous avez le droit de porter plainte au sujet de ce retard auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Que se passe-t-il si je trouve une erreur dans mes renseignements personnels?

Vous pouvez demander que toute omission ou erreur liée aux faits soit corrigée. De façon générale, vous devrez fournir certains éléments de preuve pour soutenir votre demande. Au titre de la loi, une organisation doit modifier l’information sur demande si vous réussissez à démontrer qu’elle est incomplète ou inexacte.

Si l’organisation et vous n’arrivez pas à vous entendre sur la modification de l’information, vous avez le droit de faire entendre vos préoccupations.

Si l’organisation a déjà communiqué des renseignements inexacts à un tiers, elle doit, le cas échéant, transmettre l’information modifiée (ou le dossier du litige non réglé) à ces parties, de façon à ce qu’elles puissent corriger leurs dossiers.

Dois-je payer des frais pour avoir accès à mes renseignements personnels?

Ordinairement, vous ne devriez pas avoir à payer pour avoir accès à vos renseignements personnels ou cela devrait vous coûter très peu. La loi exige qu’une organisation réponde à votre demande à un coût minimal ou gratuitement.

Une organisation peut exiger uniquement des frais minimaux pour répondre à votre demande si elle vous a informé dès le départ du coût approximatif et que vous acceptez le coût de traitement de votre demande.

Si vous estimez qu’une organisation essaie de vous facturer un prix déraisonnable, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Puis-je obtenir l’accès aux renseignements personnels d’un membre de ma famille?

Ordinairement, vous pouvez seulement demander l’accès à des renseignements à votre sujet. Les organisations peuvent retenir des renseignements concernant un tiers, comme un membre de votre famille, ou les supprimer d’autres renseignements personnels vous concernant.

Toutefois, si le membre de votre famille consent par écrit à la communication des renseignements ou si vous avez besoin de l’information parce que la vie, la santé ou la sécurité de la personne est menacée, vous pourriez être autorisé à y avoir accès.

Est-ce qu’une entreprise peut refuser ma demande d’accès à mes renseignements personnels?

Oui. La loi prévoit un certain nombre d’exceptions à votre droit général d’accès à vos renseignements personnels.

Il y a, par exemple, des circonstances dans lesquelles une organisation peut choisir de retenir une partie ou la totalité de l’information. Il y a aussi des circonstances dans lesquelles la loi interdit aux organisations de communiquer l’information.

Veuillez consulter notre document d’orientation pour davantage de détails.

Si l’organisation me refuse l’accès à une partie ou à la totalité de mes renseignements, est-ce que j’ai un recours?

Si vous estimez que l’organisation retient davantage d’information qu’elle ne le devrait, vous avez le droit de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada.

Toutefois, avant de le faire, vous devriez essayer de régler l’affaire directement avec l’organisation. Parfois, le problème est lié à un simple oubli ou à un malentendu qui peut facilement être corrigé.