How to File a Privacy Complaint

At the federal level, your privacy rights are protected by two separate laws:

  • The Privacy Act, which applies to federal government institutions.
  • The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), which applies to many private-sector organizations.

Under these laws, individuals have the right to complain to the Privacy Commissioner of Canada if they feel their personal information has been mishandled. The OPC also has the responsibility to enforce certain measures of Canada’s anti-spam law.

IMPORTANT – Your first step before filing a complaint

There are a number of laws in Canada that relate to privacy rights, and various government organizations and agencies are responsible for overseeing compliance with these laws. For example, each province and territory in Canada has a commissioner or ombudsman responsible for overseeing provincial and territorial privacy legislation.

To determine if the issue related to your complaint is one that falls under the laws our Office oversees, please consult our Privacy Legislation in Canada fact sheet.

Complaints against private sector organizations

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) sets out the rules that private-sector organizations must follow when they handle personal information in the course of their commercial activities. For organizations that are federally regulated, PIPEDA also applies to the personal information of employees.

Note: Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec have general private-sector legislation that has been deemed substantially similar to PIPEDA. If your concern relates to a private-sector organization based in one of these three provinces, see our Privacy Legislation in Canada fact sheet for more information.

File a complaint under PIPEDA

Before filing your complaint with us, please consult our Guide to the Complaint Process. It provides useful information on what matters can be subject to complaints under PIPEDA and what you can expect from our Office. You should, however, try first to resolve your concerns directly with the organization associated with your complaint. For further help, please see A Guide for Individuals – Your Guide to PIPEDA.You may also call our Office, toll-free at 1-800-282-1376. One of our Information Officers can answer questions you may have about our complaints process.

If you choose to file a privacy complaint against a private-sector organization, please use one of these three options:

  1. Fill out the Online Complaint Form
  2. Download, fill out a complaint form electronically, print and mail your complaint (PDF version)
  3. Download, print a complaint form, fill out by hand and mail your complaint (RTF version)

The OPC is committed to ensuring that clients with disabilities have equal access to, and can benefit from, all our public-facing services. If you require accommodation for a disability to help you file a complaint, please contact our Information Centre. An Information Officer will either assist you in making your request or refer you to the appropriate person.

Note: If you are filing a complaint on behalf of someone else, you will need written authorization from that person. Here is a link to the OPC Authorization form.

Instructions

If you use option 2 or 3, send your completed form to:

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1H3
Inquiries: 1-800-282-1376 (toll-free)

There is no charge for filing a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada and you do not need to hire special advisors to help you with the process.

The personal information you provide on this form is protected under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.  Please note that your name and the details of your complaint will be shared with the organization that is the subject of the complaint.

 

Here are some other useful resources:

Complaints against federal government institutions

The Privacy Act sets out the rules for the collection, use and disclosure of personal information by federal government institutions. It also gives individuals the right to see the information the government holds about them, and to request corrections.

File a complaint under the Privacy Act

Before filing a complaint with us, you should try to resolve the matter with the help of the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Co-ordinator of the institution responsible for the personal information at issue. A list of ATIP Co-ordinators can be found at: http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/apps/coords/index-eng.asp. You may also call our Office, toll-free at 1-800-282-1376. One of our Information Officers can answer questions you may have about our complaints process.

If you choose to file a privacy complaint against a federal government institution, please use one of these three options:

  1. Fill out the Online Complaint Form
  2. Download, fill out a complaint form electronically, print and mail your complaint (PDF version)
  3. Download, print a complaint form, fill out by hand and mail your complaint (RTF version)

The OPC is committed to ensuring that clients with disabilities have equal access to, and can benefit from, all our public-facing services. If you require accommodation for a disability to help you file a complaint, please contact our Information Centre. An Information Officer will either assist you in making your request or refer you to the appropriate person.

Note: If you are filing a complaint on behalf of someone else, you will need written authorization from that person. Here is a link to the OPC Authorization form.

Instructions

If you use option 2 or 3, send your completed form to:

Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
30 Victoria Street
Gatineau, Quebec
K1A 1H3
Inquiries: 1-800-282-1376 (toll-free)

There is no charge for filing a complaint with the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada and you do not need to hire special advisors to help you with the process.

The personal information you provide on this form is protected under the provisions of the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act.  Please note that your name and the details of your complaint will be shared with the organization that is the subject of the complaint.

 

Here are some other useful resources:

How to make an access request for your personal information

Both PIPEDA and the Privacy Act provide a right of access to the personal information private sector organizations and federal institutions hold about you.

Canada’s anti-spam legislation

Upon the coming into force of Canada’s anti-spam legislation on July 1, 2014, submissions under this law are to be made to the Spam Reporting Centre, the central repository for information about spam-related activity and threats. The collective submissions of many Canadians will help identify possible organizations contravening the legislation which may warrant action. Your submission may also be a matter of interest under the CASL mandates of either the CRTC or the Competition Bureau.

Comment déposer une plainte concernant la protection de la vie privée

Au niveau fédéral, votre droit à la vie privée est protégé par deux lois distinctes :

  • La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, qui s'applique aux institutions fédérales gouvernementales.
  • La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE), qui s'applique à plusieurs organisations du secteur privé.

En vertu de ces lois, les gens peuvent, s'ils jugent que leurs renseignements personnels ont été traités de façon inappropriée, déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada. Le Commissariat est également responsable de l’application de certaines mesures de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel.

IMPORTANT – Première étape avant de porter plainte

Au Canada, plusieurs lois se rapportent au droit à la vie privée et divers organismes et organisations gouvernementales sont chargés de veiller à leur respect. Par exemple, chaque province et territoire du Canada a son commissaire ou ombudsman chargé de veiller au respect des lois provinciales et territoriales en matière de protection de la vie privée.

Pour savoir si votre plainte découle d’une question qui relève des lois que le Commissariat met en application, consultez la fiche d’information Lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada.

Plainte visant une organisation du secteur privé

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) établit les règles que doivent suivre les organisations du secteur privé lorsqu’elles traitent des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités commerciales. Dans le cas des organisations sous juridiction fédérale, la LPRPDE s’applique également aux renseignements personnels de leurs employés.

Note : L’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec ont des lois générales pour le secteur privé qui sont considérées comme étant essentiellement similaires à la LPRPDE. Si votre préoccupation concerne une organisation du secteur privé dans l’une de ces trois provinces, consultez la fiche d’information Lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada pour de plus amples renseignements.

Déposer une plainte en vertu de la LPRPDE

Avant de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, veuillez consulter notre Guide sur le processus relatif aux plaintes. Vous y trouverez de l'information utile sur les motifs possibles de plainte en vertu de la LPRPDE ainsi que sur les actions auxquelles vous pouvez vous attendre de notre part. Toutefois, vous devriez tout d'abord essayer de régler le problème directement avec l'organisation visée par votre plainte. Pour d'autres renseignements, consultez Un guide pour les particuliers – Votre guide sur la LPRPDE. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le Commissariat en composant sans frais le 1-800-282-1376. Un de nos agents d’information pourra répondre aux questions que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de notre processus relatif aux plaintes.

Si vous choisissez de déposer une plainte concernant la protection de la vie privée contre une organisation du secteur privé, veuillez utiliser l’une des trois options suivantes :

  1. Remplir le formulaire de plainte en ligne
  2. Télécharger, remplir un formulaire de plainte à l’écran, imprimer et envoyer votre plainte par la poste (version PDF)
  3. Télécharger, imprimer un formulaire de plainte, remplir à la main et envoyer votre plainte par la poste (version RTF)

Le Commissariat est déterminé à faire en sorte que les clients ayant une déficience disposent d’un accès égal et puissent profiter de tous ses services offerts au public. Si vous avez besoin de mesures d’adaptation pour vous aider à déposer une plainte, veuillez contacter notre Centre d'information. Un agent d'information s'occupera de vous aider à formuler votre demande ou vous redirigera à la bonne personne.

Nota : Si vous déposez une plainte au nom de quelqu’un d’autre, vous aurez besoin de l'autorisation écrite de cette personne. Voici un lien vers le Formulaire d’autorisation du Commissariat.

Instructions

Si vous choisissez l’option 2 ou 3, faites parvenir le formulaire dûment rempli à l'adresse suivante :

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1H3
Demandes de renseignements : 1-800-282-1376 (sans frais)

Le dépôt d'une plainte auprès du Commissariat est gratuit et il ne nécessite pas l'aide d'un conseiller spécialisé.

Les renseignements personnels que vous inscrivez sur ce formulaire sont protégés en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Veuillez noter que votre nom et les détails liés à votre plainte seront communiqués à l'organisation qui fait l’objet de la plainte.

 

Voici quelques autres ressources utiles :

Plainte visant une institution du gouvernement fédéral

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoit les règles régissant la collecte, l'utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels par les institutions fédérales gouvernementales. Elle octroie également aux personnes le droit de voir les renseignements personnels que détient le gouvernement à leur sujet et de demander des corrections.

Déposer une plainte en vertu de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Avant de déposer une plainte auprès du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée, vous devriez essayer de régler le problème avec l'aide du coordonnateur de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de l'institution responsable des renseignements personnels en cause. Vous trouverez une liste des coordonnateurs de l'AIPRP à : http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/atip-aiprp/apps/coords/index-fra.asp. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec le Commissariat en composant sans frais le 1-800-282-1376. Un de nos agents d’information pourra répondre aux questions que vous pourriez avoir au sujet de notre processus relatif aux plaintes.

Si vous choisissez de déposer une plainte concernant la protection de la vie privée contre une institution fédérale gouvernementale, veuillez utiliser l’une des trois options suivantes :

  1. Remplir le formulaire de plainte en ligne
  2. Télécharger, remplir un formulaire de plainte à l’écran, imprimer et envoyer votre plainte par la poste (version PDF)
  3. Télécharger, imprimer un formulaire de plainte, remplir à la main et envoyer votre plainte par la poste (version RTF)

Le Commissariat est déterminé à faire en sorte que les clients ayant une déficience disposent d’un accès égal et puissent profiter de tous ses services offerts au public. Si vous avez besoin de mesures d’adaptation pour vous aider à déposer une plainte, veuillez contacter notre Centre d'information. Un agent d'information s'occupera de vous aider à formuler votre demande ou vous redirigera à la bonne personne.

Nota : Si vous déposez une plainte au nom de quelqu’un d’autre, vous aurez besoin de l'autorisation écrite de cette personne. Voici un lien vers le Formulaire d’autorisation du Commissariat.

Instructions

Si vous utilisez l’option 2 ou 3, faites parvenir le formulaire rempli à l'adresse suivante :

Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
30, rue Victoria
Gatineau (Québec)
K1A 1H3
Demandes de renseignements : 1-800-282-1376 (sans frais)

Le dépôt d'une plainte auprès du Commissariat est gratuit et il ne nécessite pas l'aide d'un conseiller spécialisé.

Les renseignements personnels que vous inscrivez sur ce formulaire sont protégés en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Veuillez noter que votre nom et les détails liés à votre plainte seront communiqués à l'organisation qui fait l’objet de la plainte.

 

Voici quelques autres ressources utiles :

Comment faire une demande d’accès à l’information au sujet de vos renseignements personnels

Tant la LPRPDE que la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels prévoient un droit d’accès aux renseignements personnels à votre sujet que détiennent les organisations du secteur privé et les institutions fédérales.

Loi canadienne anti-pourriel

À la suite de l’entrée en vigueur de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel le 1er juillet 2014, toutes les demandes en vertu de cette loi devront être présentées au Centre de notification des pourriels, le dépôt central pour l’information sur les activités et les menaces liées aux pourriels. L’ensemble des demandes soumises par les Canadiens contribuera à cerner les organisations qui pourraient contrevenir à la loi, et ainsi prendre les mesures nécessaires. Votre demande pourrait relever des mandats du CRTC ou du Bureau de la concurrence au sens de la Loi canadienne anti-pourriel.