Guidelines

Guidelines for Processing Personal Data Across Borders

January 2009


Purpose

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada (OPC) has developed these guidelines to explain how the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) applies to transfers of personal information to a third party, including a third party operating outside of Canada, for processing.

NOTE: The guidelines do not cover transfers of personal information for processing by federal, provincial or territorial public sector entities. Nor do these guidelines deal with any specific rules governing transfers for processing that may be found in provincial private sector privacy laws. However, organizations not governed by PIPEDA for commercial activities within a province need to be aware that PIPEDA applies to transborder transfers.

Background

As the legislation itself states, PIPEDA is intended to "support and promote electronic commerce by protecting personal information that is collected, used or disclosed in certain circumstances?" This acknowledges that proper protection of personal information both facilitates and promotes commerce by building consumer confidence. Today's globally interdependent economy relies on international flows of information. These cross-border transfers do raise some legitimate concerns about where personal information is going as well as what happens to it while in transit and after it arrives at some foreign destination. Consumer confidence will be enhanced, and trust will be fostered, if consumers know that transfers of their personal information are governed by clear and transparent rules.

There are different approaches to protecting personal information that is being transferred for processing. European Union member states have passed laws prohibiting the transfer of personal information to another jurisdiction unless the European Commission has determined that the other jurisdiction offers "adequate" protection for personal information.

In contrast to this state-to-state approach, Canada has, through PIPEDA, chosen an organization-to-organization approach that is not based on the concept of adequacy. PIPEDA does not prohibit organizations in Canada from transferring personal information to an organization in another jurisdiction for processing. However, under PIPEDA, organizations are held accountable for the protection of personal information transfers under each individual outsourcing arrangement. The OPC can investigate complaints and audit the personal information handling practices of organizations.

The key is Principle 1 of the CSA Model Code for the Protection of Personal Information, which forms Schedule 1 of PIPEDA. Principle 1 addresses the balance between the protection of personal information of individuals and the business necessity of transferring personal information for various reasons, including the availability of service providers, efficiency and economy.

Principle 1 places responsibility on an organization for protecting personal information under its control. Principle 4.1.3 of Schedule 1 of PIPEDA specifically recognizes that personal information may be transferred to third parties for processing. It also requires organizations to use contractual or other means to "provide a comparable level of protection while the information is being processed by the third party."

Principle 1 states:

"An organization is responsible for personal information in its possession or custody, including information that has been transferred to a third party for processing. The organization shall use contractual or other means to provide a comparable level of protection while the information is being processed by a third party."

What Do These Terms in Principle 1 Mean?

Transfer

"Transfer" is a use by the organization. It is not to be confused with a disclosure. When an organization transfers personal information for processing, it can only be used for the purposes for which the information was originally collected. A simple example is the transferring of personal information for the purpose of processing payments to customers. Or to use another example, an internet service provider may transfer personal information to a third party to ensure that technical support is available on a 24/7 basis. Increasingly, organizations outsource processes to third parties. In many cases, this involves the transfer of personal information. In the context of this document, when we refer to outsourcing, we are referring specifically to outsourcing that involves personal information.

PIPEDA does not distinguish between domestic and international transfers of data.

Processing

"Processing" is interpreted to include any use of the information by the third party processor for a purpose for which the transferring organization can use it.

Comparable Level of Protection

"Comparable level of protection" means that the third party processor must provide protection that can be compared to the level of protection the personal information would receive if it had not been transferred. It does not mean that the protections must be the same across the board but it does mean that they should be generally equivalent.

What Must Organizations Do?

As the principle suggests, the primary means by which an organization may protect personal information that is sent to a third party for processing is through a contract.

Regardless of where the information is being processed - whether in Canada or in a foreign country - the organization must take all reasonable steps to protect it from unauthorized uses and disclosures while it is in the hands of the third party processor. The organization must be satisfied that the third party has policies and processes in place, including training for its staff and effective security measures, to ensure that the information in its care is properly safeguarded at all times. It should also have the right to audit and inspect how the third party handles and stores personal information, and exercise the right to audit and inspect when warranted.

The OPC recognizes the complexity of the electronic world and understands that it is often impossible for an organization to know precisely where information is flowing while in transit. But that being said, the law is clear on where accountability lies and organizations must in their own best interests, as well as those of their customers, do what they can to protect the information.

Why Comply?

  • Your customers expect you to be transparent about your practices: they will ask.
  • These are best practices: following them may give you a competitive advantage.
  • The law requires you to protect personal information while it is in the hands of a third party processor: failure to comply could result in complaints and legal action.

What the organization cannot do through contract - or indeed by any other means - is to override the laws of a foreign jurisdiction.

So, what can an organization do to fulfill its obligations under Principle 4.1.3 of Schedule 1 of PIPEDA when it comes to transfers to foreign jurisdictions with respect to the issue of access to the personal information by foreign courts, law enforcement and national security authorities?

In an investigation into a complaint involving outsourcing to a U.S. firm by CIBC Visa, the OPC found CIBC to be in compliance with PIPEDA. The OPC relied on the Office of the Office of the Superintendent of Financial Institutions' guidelines for federally regulated financial institutions. Those guidelines advise organizations to pay particular attention to the legal requirements of the jurisdiction in which the third party processor operates, as well the "potential foreign political, economic and social conditions, and events that may conspire to reduce the foreign service provider's ability to provide the service, as well as any additional risk factors that may require adjustment to the risk management program."

While these guidelines set a high standard for the protection of sensitive financial information by financial institutions, other organizations transferring sensitive personal information would also be well-advised to take note of them.

We assume that any organization looking at outsourcing to another jurisdiction will take a number of factors into account – for example, potential cost savings, the ability to provide better customer service, the availability of specialized expertise outside the company and other practical considerations.

In the case of outsourcing to another jurisdiction, PIPEDA does not require a measure by measure comparison by organizations of foreign laws with Canadian laws. But it does require organizations to take into consideration all of the elements surrounding the transaction. The result may well be that some transfers are unwise because of the uncertain nature of the foreign regime or that in some cases information is so sensitive that it should not be sent to any foreign jurisdiction.

Organizations need to be diligent in all their dealings with foreign third party processors.

What Should Individuals Expect?

Individuals should expect that their personal information is protected, regardless of where it's processed. Organizations transferring personal information to third parties are ultimately responsible for safeguarding that information. Individuals should expect transparency on the part of organizations when it comes to transferring to foreign jurisdictions.

Tips for consumers

  • Expect transparency from organizations: but if in doubt ask
  • Recognize that transborder flows of information are a fact of life and are very common
  • Be a privacy wise consumer: don't assume that because you have "nothing to hide" you shouldn't do everything you can to exert control over information about you
  • If you are uncomfortable, you may want to check out the privacy practices of other organizations. You can also discuss your concerns with our Office

Individuals have the right to assess their own risks when it comes to potential access to their personal information by foreign authorities. Some people are more risk averse than others. Some are willing to take a degree of risk in return for convenience or for access to a particular service.

Organizations need to make it plain to individuals that their information may be processed in a foreign country and that it may be accessible to law enforcement and national security authorities of that jurisdiction. They must do this in clear and understandable language. Ideally they should do it at the time the information is collected. Once an informed individual has chosen to do business with a particular company, they do not have an additional right to refuse to have their information transferred.

Summary of Key Findings

The OPC has made a number of findings related to cross-border transfers of personal information in its complaint investigations over the past several years:

  • PIPEDA does not prohibit organizations in Canada from transferring personal information to an organization in another jurisdiction for processing.
  • PIPEDA does establish rules governing transfers for processing.
  • A transfer for processing is a "use" of the information; it is not a disclosure. Assuming the information is being used for the purpose it was originally collected, additional consent for the transfer is not required.
  • The transferring organization is accountable for the information in the hands of the organization to which it has been transferred.
  • Organizations must protect the personal information in the hands of processors. The primary means by which this is accomplished is through contract.
  • No contract can override the criminal, national security or any other laws of the country to which the information has been transferred.
  • It is important for organizations to assess the risks that could jeopardize the integrity, security and confidentiality of customer personal information when it is transferred to third-party service providers operating outside of Canada.
  • Organizations must be transparent about their personal information handling practices. This includes advising customers that their personal information may be sent to another jurisdiction for processing and that while the information is in another jurisdiction it may be accessed by the courts, law enforcement and national security authorities.

For More Information

The OPC has issued a number of investigative findings related to cross-border transfers of personal information. In all of these cases we have found that the transfer did not violate PIPEDA. See the following PIPEDA case summaries on the OPC web site, www.priv.gc.ca:

Industry Canada has additional material on its web site. Visit: http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ecic-ceac.nsf/eng/gv00508.html

Lignes directrices

Lignes directrices sur le traitement transfrontalier des données personnelles

Janvier 2009


Objet

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a élaboré les présentes lignes directrices afin d'expliquer comment la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) s'applique aux transferts de renseignements personnels à des tierces parties, y compris à des tierces parties exerçant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada, aux fins de traitement.

REMARQUE : Les lignes directrices ne traitent ni des transferts de renseignements personnels aux fins de traitement par des entités publiques fédérales, provinciales ou territoriales, ni des règles particulières sur les transferts aux fins de traitement contenues dans les lois provinciales relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels qui s'appliquent au secteur privé. Toutefois, les organisations dont les activités commerciales dans une province ne sont pas assujetties à la LPRPDE doivent savoir que les transferts transfrontaliers le sont.

Contexte

Comme le stipule la Loi elle-même, la LPRPDE vise « à faciliter et à promouvoir le commerce électronique en protégeant les renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés ou communiqués dans certaines circonstances ». Cela veut dire que la protection adéquate des renseignements personnels permet de faciliter et de promouvoir le commerce en renforçant la confiance des consommateurs.

L'actuelle économie mondiale interdépendante repose sur la circulation internationale de l'information. Les transferts transfrontaliers suscitent effectivement certaines craintes légitimes : où vont les renseignements personnels, et comment sont-ils traités en cours de transit et à leur arrivée dans un pays étranger? La confiance des consommateurs sera renforcée s'ils savent que le transfert de leurs renseignements personnels est régi par des règles claires et transparentes.

Il existe différentes approches en matière de protection des renseignements personnels transférés aux fins de traitement. Les États membres de l'Union européenne ont adopté des lois interdisant le transfert de renseignements personnels d'un pays à un autre, à moins que la Commission européenne ne juge que les mesures de protection des renseignements personnels de cet autre pays sont « suffisantes ».

En adoptant la LPRPDE, le Canada a opté pour une approche non fondée sur le concept de « protection suffisante » et il a choisi une approche adaptée à chaque organisation, plutôt qu'à chaque État. La LPRPDE n'interdit pas aux organisations du Canada de transférer des renseignements personnels à une organisation dans un pays étranger aux fins de traitement. Toutefois, en vertu de la LPRPDE, les organisations sont tenues responsables de la protection des transferts de renseignements personnels en vertu de chaque accord d'impartition individuel. Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada peut enquêter sur des plaintes et mener des vérifications concernant les pratiques de traitement des renseignements personnels des organisations.

Le premier, et le plus important principe du Code type sur la protection des renseignements personnels de l'Association canadienne de normalisation, figure à l'annexe 1 de la LPRPDE. Ce principe assure l'équilibre entre la protection des renseignements personnels des consommateurs et la nécessité pour les entreprises de transférer des renseignements personnels pour diverses raisons, notamment la disponibilité des fournisseurs de services, l'efficacité et l'économie.

Le premier principe précise que la responsabilité de la protection des renseignements personnels incombe à l'organisation qui en a la gestion. Le principe 4.1.3 de l'annexe 1 de la LPRPDE reconnaît expressément que des renseignements personnels peuvent être transférés à une tierce partie aux fins de traitement. Il oblige aussi les organisationsà fournir, par voie contractuelle ou autre, « un degré comparable de protection aux renseignements qui sont en cours de traitement par une tierce partie ».

Le principe 1 précise que :

« Une organisation est responsable des renseignements personnels qu'elle a en sa possession ou sous sa garde, y compris les renseignements confiés à une tierce partie aux fins de traitement. L'organisation doit, par voie contractuelle ou autre, fournir un degré comparable de protection aux renseignements qui sont en cours de traitement par une tierce partie. »

Que signifient les termes employés dans le premier principe?

Transfert

Le « transfert » constitue une utilisation de l'information par l'organisation, à ne pas confondre avec une communication. Lorsqu'une organisation transfère des renseignements personnels aux fins de traitement, ces renseignements ne peuvent être utilisés qu'aux fins pour lesquelles ils ont été recueillis à l'origine; par exemple, des renseignements personnels peuvent être transférés afin de traiter les paiements des clients, ou encore transférés à une tierce partie par un fournisseur de services Internet pour assurer la disponibilité d'un soutien technique 24 heures sur 24, 7 jours sur 7. Les organisations impartissent de plus en plus les processus à des tierces parties. Dans bien des cas, un transfert d'information est nécessaire pour ce faire. Dans le cadre de ce document, lorsqu'il est fait mention d'impartition, on fait référence à l'impartition qui concerne des renseignements personnels.

La LPRPDE ne fait pas la distinction entre les transferts nationaux et internationaux de données.

Traitement

Le « traitement » est interprété de façon à englober toute utilisation de l'information par la tierce partie traitant les renseignements afin que ceux-ci puissent être utilisés par l'organisation qui les transfère.

Degré comparable de protection

« Degré comparable de protection » signifie que la tierce partie qui traite les renseignements doit fournir une protection comparable au niveau de protection qui serait fourni si l'information n'avait pas été transférée. Cela ne veut pas dire que les mesures de protection devraient être les mêmes partout, mais qu'elles devraient généralement s'équivaloir.

Que doivent faire les organisations?

Le premier principe suppose que les organisations protègent principalement les renseignements personnels qu'elles envoient à des tierces parties aux fins de traitement par voie contractuelle.

Peu importe l'endroit où l'information est traitée, que ce soit au Canada ou dans un pays étranger, l'organisation doit prendre toutes les mesures raisonnables pour protéger celle-ci contre l'utilisation ou la communication non autorisées par la tierce partie. L'organisation doit avoir l'assurance que la tierce partie a mis en place des politiques et des processus, y compris de la formation à l'intention de son personnel et des mesures de sécurité efficaces, pour s'assurer que l'information qu'elle a sous sa garde est adéquatement protégée en tout temps. Elle devrait également se réserver le droit de vérifier et d'inspecter les moyens de traitement et de stockage employés par la tierce partie, et se prévaloir de son droit de vérifier et d'inspecter lorsque c'est opportun.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada est conscient que l'univers électronique est complexe et qu'il s'avère parfois impossible pour une organisation de savoir précisément où circule l'information en cours de transit. Cela dit, la loi précise clairement où réside la responsabilité, et les organisations doivent, dans leur propre intérêt et dans celui de leur clientèle, faire tout en leur pouvoir pour protéger l'information.

Toutefois, aucun contrat ni autre moyen ne peut avoir préséance sur les lois d'une administration étrangère.

Alors, comment une organisation peut-elle s'y prendre pour remplir ses obligations aux termes du principe 4.1.3 de l'annexe 1 de la LPRPDE pour ce qui est des transferts à des pays étrangers lorsque survient la question de l'accès aux renseignements personnels par des organismes d'application de la loi, des agences de sécurité nationale et des tribunaux étrangers?

Pourquoi respecter la Loi?

  • Vos clients s'attendent à ce que vous fassiez preuve de transparence au sujet de vos pratiques : ils s'informeront.
  • Il s'agit de pratiques exemplaires : les suivre peut vous procurer un avantage concurrentiel.

En vertu de la Loi, vous devez protéger les renseignements personnels lorsqu'ils sont entre les mains d'un tiers : le non-respect de la Loi pourrait entraîner des plaintes et des poursuites.

Dans le cadre d'une enquête faisant suite à une plainte concernant le transfert de renseignements à une entreprise établie aux États-Unis par Visa CIBC, le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a conclu que la CIBC respectait la LPRPDE. Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada s'est référé aux lignes directrices du Bureau du surintendant des institutions financières (BSIF) s'appliquant aux institutions financières sous réglementation fédérale. Celles-ci recommandent aux organisations de porter une attention particulière aux exigences juridiques du pays où est établie la tierce partie qui traite les renseignements, de même qu'à « la situation politique, économique et sociale étrangère et aux événements susceptibles de réduire la capacité du fournisseur de services étranger d'assurer le service, sans oublier tout autre facteur de risque pouvant nécessiter l'ajustement du programme de gestion des risques ».

Même si ces lignes directrices établissent des normes élevées pour la protection de renseignements financiers de nature délicate par des institutions financières, d'autres organisations qui procèdent au transfert de renseignements personnels de nature délicate feraient bien de s'en inspirer également.

Nous supposons que toute organisation prend en considération une série de facteurs avant de décider de transférer des renseignements à une administration étrangère, notamment les économies de coûts potentielles, la capacité à fournir un meilleur service à la clientèle, la disponibilité d'une expertise spécialisée à l'extérieur de l'entreprise et d'autres considérations pratiques.

Dans les cas d'impartition à un pays étranger, la LPRPDE n'exige pas une comparaison exhaustive entre les lois canadiennes et les lois étrangères. Elle exige par contre que les organisations prennent en considération tous les éléments entourant la transaction. L'organisation pourrait ainsi se rendre compte qu'il serait mal avisé de procéder à certains transferts en raison de la nature instable d'un régime étranger. Dans d'autres cas, les renseignements se révèlent de nature si délicate qu'ils ne devraient être envoyés à aucune administration étrangère.

Les organisations doivent faire preuve de diligence dans toutes leurs opérations avec les tiers étrangers qui traitent leurs renseignements.

Conseils aux particuliers

  • Exigez que les organismes fassent preuve de transparence : en cas de doute, renseignez-vous.
  • Soyez conscient que la circulation transfrontière des renseignements est une réalité et est très répandue.
  • Soyez un consommateur averti en matière de protection de la vie privée : ne tenez pas pour acquis que parce que vous n'avez « rien à cacher », vous ne devriez pas prendre tous les moyens pour exercer un contrôle sur les renseignements qui vous concernent.
  • Si vous n'êtes pas à l'aise, vous pouvez vérifier quelles sont les pratiques de protection de la vie privée d'autres organisations. Vous pouvez également discuter de vos préoccupations avec des représentants du Commissariat.

À quoi doivent s'attendre les consommateurs?

Les consommateurs devraient s'attendre à ce que leurs renseignements personnels soient protégés, peu importe l'endroit où ils sont traités. En fin de compte, les organisations qui transfèrent des renseignements personnels à des tierces parties sont responsables de la protection de ces renseignements. Les consommateurs devraient s'attendre à ce que les organisations fassent preuve de transparence en ce qui concerne le transfert de renseignements à des pays étrangers.

Ils ont le droit d'évaluer les risques que pose pour eux l'accès potentiel des autorités étrangères à leurs renseignements personnels. Certain sont plus enclins à la prudence, tandis que d'autres sont prêts à prendre certains risques moyennant plus de commodité ou l'accès à un service particulier.

Les organisations doivent aviser leurs consommateurs de façon claire et compréhensible que leurs renseignements personnels pourraient être traités dans un pays étranger, et que les organismes d'application de la loi et de sécurité nationale de ce pays pourraient y accéder. Idéalement, cela devrait être fait au moment de la collecte des renseignements. Une fois que des consommateurs avertis décident de faire affaire avec une entreprise, ils ne peuvent s'opposer à ce que leurs renseignements personnels soient transférés.

Résumé des principales conclusions

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a formulé un certain nombre de conclusions concernant les transferts transfrontaliers de renseignements personnels dans le cadre des enquêtes sur les plaintes réalisées au cours des dernières années :

  • La LPRPDE n'interdit pas aux organisations du Canada de transférer des renseignements personnels à une organisation dans un pays étranger aux fins de traitement.
  • La LPRPDE établit cependant des règles concernant les transferts aux fins de traitement.
  • Un transfert aux fins de traitement est une « utilisation » de l'information; il ne s'agit pas d'une communication. Si les renseignements sont utilisés aux fins auxquelles ils ont été recueillis, aucun consentement supplémentaire n'est requis pour procéder au transfert.
  • L'organisation qui procède au transfert est responsable des renseignements qui sont remis à l'organisation qui les reçoit.
  • Les organisations sont tenues de protéger les renseignements personnels qui se trouvent entre les mains des tiers qui les traitent. Le moyen principal d'assurer cette protection est par voie contractuelle.
  • Aucun contrat ne peut avoir préséance sur les lois en matière de criminalité, de sécurité nationale et autres du pays vers lequel les renseignements ont été transférés.
  • Il est important que les organisations évaluent les risques que l'intégrité, la sécurité et la confidentialité des renseignements personnels de leurs clients soient compromises au moment ou à la suite du transfert à un tiers fournisseur de services exerçant des activités à l'extérieur du Canada.
  • Les organisations doivent faire preuve de transparence au sujet de leurs pratiques de traitement des renseignements personnels. Elles doivent notamment informer les consommateurs que leurs renseignements personnels pourraient être envoyés dans un autre pays aux fins de traitement, et que les tribunaux, organismes d'application de la loi et agences de sécurité nationale de ce pays pourraient y accéder.

Pour plus de renseignements

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a publié un certain nombre de conclusions d'enquêtes liées aux transferts transfrontaliers de renseignements personnels. Dans tous ces cas, nous avons conclu que le transfert de contrevenait pas à la LPRPDE. Consultez ces quelques résumés de conclusions d'enquête en vertu de la LPRPDE, sur le site Web du Commissariat, à www.priv.gc.ca :

Industrie Canada présente de la documentation supplémentaire sur son site Web. Consultez l'adresse suivante : http://www.ic.gc.ca/eic/site/ecic-ceac.nsf/fra/gv00508.html