ARCHIVED - News Releases

“60 Minutes” Investigates TJX Data Breach, Interviews Privacy Commissioner

OTTAWA, November 26, 2007 – Jennifer Stoddart, the Privacy Commissioner of Canada, appeared on the CBS News program “60 Minutes” last night to provide information on her investigation into the extensive loss of personal information by at TJX, a U.S. retailer that operates stores under the names T.J. Maxx, Marshalls, Winners and HomeSense.

The video of the interview and investigative report is available on the CBS News Web site: http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/i_video/main500251.shtml’id=3538299n. A transcript is also available: http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/11/21/60minutes/main3530302.shtml (the video and transcript are presented in their original language).

On September 25, 2007, Ms. Stoddart and her colleague, Frank Work, the Information and Privacy Commissioner of Alberta, released the results of an investigation into the loss of millions of credit card numbers, driver’s license numbers, social insurance numbers and other personal information as the result of a hacker’s attack on TJX’s computer systems.

This investigation was conducted in conjunction with Commissioner Work’s office. As Ms. Stoddart noted at the time:

“The company collected too much personal information, kept it too long and relied on weak encryption technology to protect it – putting the privacy of millions of its customers at risk,” says Privacy Commissioner of Canada Jennifer Stoddart.

The September 25, 2007 news release is available on the Office of the Privacy Commissioner’s web site, as is the full text of the report of our investigation.

News Release: http://www.priv.gc.ca/media/nr-c/2007/nr-c_070925_e.cfm
Report: http://www.priv.gc.ca/cf-dc/2007/TJX_rep_070925_e.cfm

— 30 —

For more information and/or media interview requests, contact:

Colin McKay
Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada
Tel: (613) 995-0103
E-mail: cmckay@priv.gc.ca

ARCHIVÉ - Communiqués

L'Ă©mission « 60 Minutes » enquĂŞte sur la brèche dans la protection des donnĂ©es survenue Ă  TJX – entrevue avec la commissaire Ă  la protection de la vie privĂ©e

OTTAWA, le 26 novembre 2007 – La commissaire Ă  la protection de la vie privĂ©e, Jennifer Stoddart, est passĂ©e Ă  l'Ă©mission d'information « 60 Minutes » de la chaĂ®ne CBS hier soir afin de prĂ©senter de l'information sur l'enquĂŞte qu'a menĂ©e le Commissariat sur la perte d'une grande quantitĂ© de renseignements personnels Ă  TJX, un dĂ©taillant des États-Unis propriĂ©taire de plusieurs magasins : T.J. Maxx, Marshalls, Winners et HomeSense.

La vidĂ©o de l'entrevue ainsi que le rapport d'enquĂŞte sont disponibles sur le site Web de CBS News Ă  l'adresse suivante : http://www.cbsnews.com/sections/i_video/main500251.shtml’id=3538299n. Il est Ă©galement possible de se procurer une transcription de l'entrevue au http://www.cbsnews.com/stories/2007/11/21/60minutes/main3530302.shtml. (La vidĂ©o et la transcription sont prĂ©sentĂ©es dans leur langue originale)

Le 25 septembre 2007, Mme Stoddart et son collègue Frank Work, commissaire Ă  l'information et Ă  la protection de la vie privĂ©e de l'Alberta, ont communiquĂ© les rĂ©sultats d'une enquĂŞte sur la perte de millions de renseignements personnels – dont, entre autres, les numĂ©ros de cartes de crĂ©dit, de permis de conduire et d'assurance sociale – dĂ©coulant  d'une attaque de pirates informatiques contre les systèmes de TJX.

L'enquête a été menée conjointement avec le Bureau du commissaire Work. Mme Stoddart avait alors souligné que :

« L'entreprise recueillait une trop grande quantité de renseignements personnels, les conservait trop longtemps et se fiait à une technologie de chiffrement inadéquate pour les protéger, mettant ainsi à risque la vie privée de millions de clients. »

Le communiquĂ© de presse du 25 septembre 2007 ainsi que le rapport intĂ©gral de l'enquĂŞte du CPVP sont disponibles sur le site Web du Commissariat Ă  la protection de la vie privĂ©e, Ă  l’adresse suivante :

Communiqué : http://www.priv.gc.ca/media/nr-c/2007/nr-c_070925_f.cfm
Rapport : http://www.priv.gc.ca/cf-dc/2007/TJX_rep_070925_f.cfm

— 30 —

Pour obtenir d’autres renseignements ou pour toute demande d’entrevue avec les mĂ©dias, communiquez avec :

Colin McKay
Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada
Tél. : 613-995-0103
Courriel : cmckay@priv.gc.ca