Research

Contributions Program: Privacy Research and Related Knowledge Translation Initiatives Funded by the OPC

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada’s (OPC) Contributions Program funds independent privacy research and related knowledge translation initiatives. Researchers are encouraged to propose projects that generate new ideas, approaches, and knowledge about privacy that organizations can apply to better safeguard personal information and/or that individual Canadians can use to make more informed decisions about protecting their privacy.

Created in 2004 to support independent, non-profit research on privacy, further privacy policy development, and promote the protection of personal information in Canada, the Contributions Program is considered one of the foremost privacy research funding programs in the world.

Program News

Contributions Program 2015-2016

The call for proposals for the 2015-2016 program is now closed. We would like to thank everyone who submitted proposals. We are currently reviewing the submissions and we will be announcing the funded projects in the spring. For more information, please contact François Cadieux, Senior Research Analyst, at contrib@priv.gc.ca.

OPC Awards Funding for 2015 Privacy Research Symposium

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada has awarded funding to the The Centre for Law, Technology and Society (CLTS) to organize and host the third Pathways to Privacy Research Symposium. The theme of the CLTS event will be “A Return to First Principles for Privacy at the Cutting-Edge,” and it will take place on Thursday, February 26th, 2015 at University of Ottawa in Tabaret Hall. Read more…

Contributions Program 2014-2015

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada has announced the recipients of its 2014-2015 Contributions Program. The Office is providing over $470,000 this year for nine new independent research and knowledge translation projects that will explore emerging and evolving privacy issues.

Contributions Program 2013-2014

Looking for some fresh thinking about privacy issues and challenges? We have begun posting the final summaries for the most recently completed privacy research and public education projects funded by the OPC’s Contributions Program:

For more information, please contact François Cadieux, Senior Research Analyst, at contrib@priv.gc.ca.

Real Results: Protecting privacy rights through innovative research

Real Results highlights a handful of independent cutting-edge projects funded through the OPC’s Contributions Program. Read how these researchers are generating new ideas, approaches and information about privacy in Canada, and how their work has impacted Canadians.

 

For more information, please contact François Cadieux, Senior Research Analyst, at contrib@priv.gc.ca.

Recherche

Programme des contributions : Projets de recherche dans le domaine de la protection de la vie privée et initiatives connexes d'application des connaissances financés par le CPVP

Le Programme des contributions du CPVP finance la recherche indépendante et les initiatives connexes d'application des connaissances portant sur la protection de la vie privée. Les chercheurs sont encouragés de proposer des projets qui génèrent de nouvelles idées, approches et connaissances concernant la vie privée que les organisations pourront mettre en oeuvre pour mieux protéger les renseignements personnels et/ou que les Canadiennes et les Canadiens pourront utiliser pour prendre des décisions mieux éclairées en ce qui a trait à la protection de leur vie privée.

Créé en 2004 pour appuyer la recherche sans but lucratif et indépendante sur la protection de la vie privée, encourager l’élaboration de politiques dans ce domaine et promouvoir la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada, le Programme des contributions s’est acquis une solide réputation et est considéré comme l’un des meilleurs programmes de financement de la recherche sur la protection de la vie privée au monde.

Nouvelles du Programme

Programme des contributions 2015-2016

L’appel de propositions dans le cadre de son Programme des contributions 2015-2016 est maintenant fermé. Nous tenons à remercier toutes les personnes qui ont soumis des propositions. Nous sommes à examiner les propositions reçues et nous annoncerons les projets financés au printemps. Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme veuillez communiquer avec François Cadieux, analyste principal de la recherche, à contrib@priv.gc.ca.

Le Commissariat accorde un financement pour le symposium de recherche 2015 sur la protection de la vie privée

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a accordé un financement au Centre de recherche en droit, technologie et société (CRDTS) pour l’organisation et la tenue de la troisième édition du symposium de recherche Parcours de la protection de la vie privée. Le symposium aura lieu le 26 février 2015 à l’Université d’Ottawa dans le pavillon Tabaret sur le thème du retour aux principes premiers de la protection de la vie privée à l’heure des avancées technologiques. Suite…

Programme des contributions 2014-2015

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada a annoncé le nom des bénéficiaires de l’édition 2014-2015 de son Programme des contributions. Cette année, plus de 470 000 $ sont accordés pour financer neuf projets indépendants de recherche ainsi que des initiatives d'application des connaissances portant sur des questions nouvelles et en évolution relatives à la protection de la vie privée.

Programme des contributions 2013-2014

Vous êtes à la recherche d’idées nouvelles et originales en ce qui a trait à la vie privée et aux défis qu’elle représente? Nous avons commencé à afficher les résumés des plus récents projets de recherche et de sensibilisation du public financés par le Programme des contributions du Commissariat :

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme veuillez communiquer avec François Cadieux, analyste principal de la recherche, à contrib@priv.gc.ca.

Résultats réels : Des initiatives de recherche novatrices pour protéger les droits relatifs à la vie privée

Résultats réels met en vedette quelques projets indépendants de pointe financés dans le cadre du Programme des contributions du Commissariat. Découvrez la façon dont des chercheurs génèrent de nouvelles idées, approches et connaissances en matière de vie privée au Canada, ainsi que les retombées de leur travail sur les Canadiennes et Canadiens.

 

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur le Programme veuillez communiquer avec François Cadieux, analyste principal de la recherche, à contrib@priv.gc.ca.