Fact Sheets

The Application of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act to Charitable and Non-Profit Organizations

Our Office is often asked about the application of the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) to charities, non-profit organizations, associations and other similar organizations. In particular, many organizations and individuals want to know how the Act applies to fundraising and other activities such as mailing information to previous donors or members.

As of January 1, 2004, PIPEDA applies to every organization that collects, uses or discloses personal information in the course of commercial activities. However, the federal government may exempt organizations and/or activities in provinces that are deemed to have adopted substantially similar privacy legislation. The Act also applies to personal information in interprovincial and international transactions by all organizations subject to the Act in the course of their commercial activities.

The presence of commercial activity is the most important consideration in determining whether or not an organization is subject to the Act. Section 2 of the Act defines "commercial activity" as:

"...any particular transaction, act or conduct or any regular course of conduct that is of a commercial character, including the selling, bartering or leasing of donor, membership or other fundraising lists. "

Whether or not an organization operates on a non-profit basis is not conclusive in determining the application of the Act. The term non-profit or not-for-profit is a technical term that is not found in PIPEDA. The bottom line is that non-profit status does not automatically exempt an organization from the application of the Act.

Most non-profits are not subject to the Act because they do not engage in commercial activities. This is typically the case with most charities, minor hockey associations, clubs, community groups and advocacy organizations. Collecting membership fees, organizing club activities, compiling a list of members' names and addresses, and mailing out newsletters are not considered commercial activities. Similarly, fundraising is not a commercial activity. However, some clubs, for example many golf clubs and athletic clubs, may be engaged in commercial activities which are subject to the Act.

As the definition of commercial activity makes clear, selling, bartering or leasing a membership list or a list of donors would be considered a commercial activity. As a result, consent is required for the disclosure of this information. Assuming the information would not be considered sensitive, an organization could use a clear, simple and easy-to-execute opt-out process as a means of obtaining consent.

Although the Act does not generally apply to charities, associations and other similar organizations, we recommend that such organizations provide their members, donors or supporters with an opportunity to decline to receive further communications.

Charities and other similar organizations should also be aware that some provinces have passed legislation similar to PIPEDA. Some of these laws apply to charities and other non-profit organizations.

Fiches d'information

Application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques aux oeuvres de charité et aux organismes sans but lucratif

Le Commissariat reçoit souvent des demandes de renseignements concernant l'application de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) aux oeuvres de charité, aux organismes sans but lucratif, aux associations et à d'autres organismes similaires. Plus particulièrement, plusieurs personnes et organismes veulent savoir dans quelle mesure la Loi s'applique aux collectes de fonds et à d'autres activités telles que l'envoi d'information par la poste à d'anciens donateurs ou membres.

Depuis le 1er janvier 2004, la LPRPDE s'applique à chaque organisme qui recueille, utilise ou communique des renseignements personnels dans le cadre d'activités commerciales. Toutefois, le gouvernement fédéral peut soustraire certains organismes ou activités à l'application de cette loi dans les provinces ayant adopté une loi réputée être essentiellement similaire. La Loi touche également les renseignements personnels se rattachant aux transactions interprovinciales et internationales qu'effectuent toutes les organisations assujetties à la Loi dans le cadre de leurs activités commerciales.

La présence d'activités commerciales constitue l'élément le plus important afin de déterminer si un organisme est ou non assujetti à la Loi. Selon l'article 2 de la LPRPDE, le terme « activité commerciale » se définit de la façon suivante :

« Toute activité régulière ainsi que tout acte isolé qui revêtent un caractère commercial de par leur nature, y compris la vente, le troc ou la location de listes de donneurs, d'adhésion ou de collecte de fonds. »

Le fait qu'une organisme soit ou non sans but lucratif ne permet pas de déterminer de façon concluante la mesure dans laquelle la Loi s'applique. Les expressions « sans but lucratif » ou « à but non lucratif » sont des expressions techniques qui ne figurent pas dans la LPRPDE. En fait, ce n'est pas parce qu'un organisme détient le statut d'organisme sans but lucratif qu'il est automatiquement dispensé des obligations découlant de la Loi.

La plupart des organismes sans but lucratif ne sont pas assujettis à la Loi parce qu'ils n'exercent pas d'activités commerciales. C'est généralement le cas pour ce qui est de la majorité des oeuvres de charité, des associations de hockey mineur, des clubs, des groupes communautaires et des organismes de défense des droits. La collecte de droits d'adhésion, l'organisation d'activités de club, l'établissement d'une liste de noms et d'adresses de membres et l'envoi de bulletins de nouvelles n'entrent pas dans la définition d'activités commerciales, et il en est de même pour les collectes de fonds. Il arrive toutefois que certains clubs, par exemple de nombreux clubs de golf et d'athlétisme, prennent part à des activités commerciales assujetties à la Loi.

Selon la définition contenue dans la Loi, il est évident que la vente, le troc ou la location de listes d'adhésion ou de donneurs constitue une activité commerciale. Par conséquent, il faut obtenir un consentement pour communiquer cette information. Si l'information en question n'est pas considérée de nature délicate, l'organisme peut recourir à un processus de dérogation clair et simple pour obtenir le consentement des personnes concernées par cette communication.

Bien qu'en général la Loi ne s'applique pas aux oeuvres de charité, aux associations et à d'autres organismes semblables, nous recommandons à tous les organismes d'offrir à leurs membres, donateurs et partisans la possibilité de refuser de recevoir d'autres communications.

Il importe de savoir que certaines provinces ont adopté une loi similaire à la LPRPDE, et que quelques-unes de ces lois s'appliquent aux oeuvres de charité et aux organismes sans but lucratif.