Fact Sheets

What Canadians Can Do to Protect Their Personal Information Transferred Across Borders

Canadians benefit from a reasonable standard of protection of their personal information. They do not want to see that protection vanish when personal information about them is transferred across borders, and they do not want to see governments or organizations in Canada transfer their information across borders if it will be put at risk of inappropriate disclosure, whether for security or for commercial purposes.

The extent to which personal information about Canadians should be made available to foreign governments is a complex issue of continuing concern. Nonetheless, Canadians can take some measures to protect their personal information from inappropriate disclosure to foreign governments:

  • By bringing complaints about the handling of personal information (especially outsourcing arrangements) to the Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada or provincial and territorial commissioners, depending on the organization whose conduct has raised the concern;
  • By relying on the "whistle blowing" provisions of PIPEDA if a US based affiliate of a Canadian organization seeks to reach into Canada to obtain personal information held in a Canadian database in order to comply with a US legal order. These provisions would protect the confidentiality of employees who notify the Privacy Commissioner of Canada that a company intends to transfer information abroad in violation of PIPEDA. The provisions also protect employees against retaliation by the employers, such as harassment, dismissal or demotion;
  • By letting organizations in Canada that collect personal information about Canadians know that there is a concern about personal information being processed outside Canada;
  • By taking advantage of the information rights existing under PIPEDA and provincial private sector statutes which require organizations to follow fair information practices, notably obtaining consent for information use;
  • By reminding companies in Canada of their legal obligation to introduce appropriate security measures to prevent their subsidiaries or affiliates in another country from secretly obtaining access to personal information held in Canada to comply with a court order made in the foreign country;
  • By raising their concerns about the potential for excessive disclosure of personal information to foreign governments or to foreign companies with their elected representatives; and
  • Generally, by being more attentive to what may be happening to their personal information when it crosses borders and to the importance of clear and enforceable international standards on information sharing in democratic countries.

What Companies Do to Protect the Personal Information of Canadians Transferred Across Borders

Companies that are subject to PIPEDA or similar provincial legislation must comply with that legislation. It is important for the management of organizations subject to such laws to understand their responsibilities under the laws — for example, the obligations in PIPEDA to ensure the security of personal information. PIPEDA requires personal information to be protected by security safeguards appropriate to the sensitivity of the information.

Corporate leaders increasingly recognize that maintaining a high level of public trust in how personal information is handled is vital to achieve customer loyalty. It is also abundantly clear to corporate leaders that personal information holdings are key business assets that need to be protected against misuse.

Fiches d'information

Que peuvent faire les Canadiens et les Canadiennes pour protéger la communication transfrontalière de leurs renseignements personnels ?

Les Canadiens et les Canadiennes jouissent d'une norme raisonnable de protection de leurs renseignements personnels. Ils ne veulent pas que cette protection disparaisse lorsque leurs renseignements personnels sont transférés par-delà les frontières, et ils ne souhaitent pas que les gouvernements ou les organisations au Canada transfèrent leurs renseignements personnels par-delà les frontières si tels renseignements risquent d'être communiqués indûment, que ce soit à des fins de sécurité ou à des fins commerciales.

La mesure dans laquelle les renseignements personnels de Canadiens et de Canadiennes devraient être mis à la disposition de gouvernements étrangers est une question complexe qui continue de susciter de nombreuses interrogations. Cependant, les Canadiens et les Canadiennes peuvent prendre des mesures pour protéger leurs renseignements personnels contre une communication inappropriée à des gouvernements étrangers :

  • en déposant des plaintes concernant le traitement de leurs renseignements personnels (en particulier dans les arrangements d'impartition) au Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada ou aux commissaires provinciaux et territoriaux, selon l'organisation dont la conduite est à l'origine de la plainte;
  • en invoquant les dispositions de la LPRPDE sur la dénonciation, si une organisation affiliée à une entreprise canadienne et qui opère aux États-Unis, cherche à obtenir des renseignements personnels détenus uniquement au Canada, en vertu d'une ordonnance de la Cour. Ces dispositions protégeraient l'anonymat des employés qui informent la commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada qu'une entreprise entend transférer des renseignements à l'étranger en violation de la LPRPDE. Les dispositions protègent aussi les employés contre les représailles de leurs employeurs, que ce soit le harcèlement, le congédiement ou la rétrogradation;
  • en faisant savoir aux organisations au Canada qui recueillent des renseignements personnels sur les Canadiens et les Canadiennes que le traitement des renseignements personnels en dehors du Canada suscite des interrogations;
  • en se prévalant des droits qui sont conférés en matière de renseignements par la LPRPDE, et par les lois provinciales de même nature applicables au secteur privé, lois qui obligent les organisations à observer des pratiques équitables en matière de renseignements, et notamment à obtenir des consentements à l'utilisation des renseignements;
  • en rappelant aux entreprises situées au Canada leur obligation juridique de mettre en place des mesures de sécurité adéquates afin d'empêcher leurs filiales ou leurs affiliées situées dans un autre pays d'obtenir secrètement l'accès à des renseignements personnels détenus au Canada dans le but de se conformer à une ordonnance judiciaire rendue dans le pays étranger;
  • en faisant savoir à leurs élus qu'ils sont préoccupés par le risque d'une divulgation excessive de renseignements personnels aux gouvernements étrangers ou à des entreprises étrangères; et
  • d'une manière générale, en se montrant plus attentifs à ce qui risque d'arriver à leurs renseignements personnels lorsque tels renseignements traversent les frontières, ainsi qu'à l'importance de normes internationales claires et exécutoires sur les échanges de renseignements dans les pays démocratiques.

Que peuvent faire les entreprises pour protéger la communication transfrontalière de renseignements personnels sur les Canadiens et les Canadiennes

Les entreprises qui sont sujettes à la LPRPDE ou aux lois provinciales semblables doivent se conformer auxdites lois. Il importe que la direction des organisations sujettes à de telles lois comprenne ses responsabilités selon les lois en question — par exemple, l'obligation, énoncée dans la LPRPDE, de garantir la sécurité des renseignements personnels. La LPRPDE stipule que les renseignements personnels doivent être protégés par des garanties de sécurité qui conviennent à la sensibilité des renseignements.

Les dirigeants d'entreprise reconnaissent de plus en plus qu'il est essentiel pour eux de préserver un niveau élevé de confiance du public dans la manière dont ils traitent les renseignements personnels, s'ils tiennent véritablement à la loyauté de leur clientèle. Les dirigeants d'entreprise savent également fort bien que les renseignements personnels qu'ils détiennent constituent d'importants actifs qui doivent être protégés contre tout abus.