Fact Sheets

Privacy Legislation in Canada

Note: This Fact Sheet is not intended to provide legal advice; it is only intended to provide general information about privacy legislation in Canada.

A basic overview of privacy legislation in Canada

There are a number of laws in Canada that relate to privacy rights, and there are various government organizations and agencies responsible for overseeing compliance with these laws.

The key factors that determine what laws apply and who oversees them include:

  • The nature of the organization responsible for the personal information
    • Is the organization a federal government institution subject to the Privacy Act?
    • Is it a provincial or territorial government institution? 
    • Is it a private-sector organization?
    • Is it engaged in commercial activities?
    • Is it a federal work, undertaking or business (FWUB)?
  • The location of the organization (where is it based?)
  • The type of information (is it personal information, and if so, what type of personal information is it. i.e., is it health information?) 

The following provides an overview of privacy laws in Canada and the issues to which they may apply.

Federal privacy laws

Canada has two federal privacy laws, the Privacy Act, which covers the personal information-handling practices of federal government departments and agencies, and the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA), the federal private-sector privacy law.

The Privacy Act

The Privacy Act relates to an individual’s right to access and correct personal information the Government of Canada holds about them or the Government’s collection, use and disclosure of their personal information in the course of providing services (e.g., old age pensions or employment insurance).

The Privacy Act only applies to federal government institutions listed in the Privacy Act Schedule of Institutions. It applies to all of the personal information that the federal government collects, uses and discloses—be it about individuals or federal employees.

It should be noted that the Privacy Act does not apply to political parties and political representatives.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada oversees compliance with the Privacy Act.

The Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act

PIPEDA sets out the ground rules for how private-sector organizations collect, use or disclose personal information in the course of commercial activities across Canada. It also applies to personal information of employees of federally-regulated works, undertakings, or businesses (organizations that are federally-regulated, such as banks, airlines, and telecommunications companies).

It should be noted that PIPEDA does not apply to organizations that are not engaged in commercial activity. As such, it does not generally apply to not-for-profit and charity groups, associations or political parties, for example—unless the organization is conducting a commercial activity (fundraising is not considered a commercial activity).

In addition, PIPEDA will not apply to an organization that operates wholly within a province that has legislation that has been deemed substantially similar to the PIPEDA, unless the personal information crosses provincial or national borders.  Alberta, British Columbia and Quebec have general private-sector legislation that has been deemed substantially similar. (see following section titled “Provincial privacy laws” for more information)

Therefore, PIPEDA generally applies to:

  • Private-sector organizations carrying on business in Canada in the provinces or territories of Manitoba, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Northwest Territories, Nova Scotia, Nunavut, Ontario, Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan, or Yukon but not their handling of employee information.
  • Private-sector organizations carrying on business in Canada when the personal information they collect, use or disclose crosses provincial or national borders but not their handling of  employee information.
  • Federally-regulated organizations carrying on commercial activity in Canada, such as a bank, airline, telephone or broadcasting company, etc., including their handling of health information and employee information.

The Office of the Privacy Commissioner of Canada oversees compliance with PIPEDA.

Provincial privacy laws

Every province and territory has its own public-sector legislation and the relevant provincial act will apply to provincial government agencies, not the Privacy Act.

For the private-sector, some provinces have privacy legislation that has been deemed “substantially similar” to PIPEDA, which means that it is applied instead of PIPEDA in some cases.  Alberta, British Columbia and Québec all have private-sector legislation which has been declared to be “substantially similar” and will apply to private-sector businesses that collect, use and disclose personal information while carrying on business within those provinces.

Ontario, New Brunswick, and Newfoundland and Labrador have privacy legislation, which applies to health information that has been declared substantially similar to PIPEDA with respect to health information custodians. 

While other provinces and territories have also passed their own health privacy laws, these have not been declared substantially similar to PIPEDA. Therefore in some cases PIPEDA may still apply.

In addition, some provinces have passed privacy laws that apply to employee information. Examples include

Each province and territory in Canada has a commissioner or ombudsman responsible for overseeing provincial and territorial privacy legislation, and these are listed on our website.

Sector-specific privacy laws

Several federal and provincial sector-specific laws include provisions dealing with the protection of personal information.

The federal Bank Act, for example, contains provisions regulating the use and disclosure of personal financial information by federally regulated financial institutions.

Most provinces have legislation dealing with consumer credit reporting. These acts typically impose an obligation on credit reporting agencies to ensure the accuracy of the information, place limits on the disclosure of the information and give consumers the right to have access to, and challenge the accuracy of, the information.

Provincial laws governing credit unions typically have provisions dealing with the confidentiality of information relating to members' transactions.

There is also a large number of provincial acts that contain confidentiality provisions concerning personal information collected by professionals.

It should be noted that the presence of other legislation that has privacy-related provisions does not necessarily mean that PIPEDA does not apply.

For more information about privacy legislation in Canada and what organization may be best suited to help you if you have a privacy issue, see our infographic: Privacy Protection in Canada.

Updated in May 2014

Fiches d'information

Lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada

Remarque : Cette fiche d’information ne vise pas à fournir un avis juridique; elle a seulement pour objet de fournir des renseignements généraux au sujet des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada.

Besoin d’aide en matière de vie privée?

Voyez quelle organisation est la mieux placée pour vous aider.

Bref aperçu des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels au Canada

Au Canada, plusieurs lois se rapportent au droit à la vie privée et divers organismes et organisations gouvernementales sont chargés de veiller à leur respect.

Les principaux facteurs qui déterminent quelles lois s’appliquent et quelle entité est chargée de surveiller leur respect sont les suivants :

  • la nature de l’organisation qui est responsable des renseignements personnels
    • L’organisation est-elle une institution fédérale assujettie à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels?
    • S’agit-il d’une institution provinciale ou territoriale?
    • S’agit-il d’une organisation du secteur privé?
    • L’organisation exerce-t-elle des activités commerciales?
    • S’agit-il d’une entreprise fédérale?
  • le lieu où se situe l’organisation (où se trouve son siège social?)
  • le type d’information (S’agit-il d’un renseignement personnel? Si c’est le cas, quel type de renseignement personnel est-ce? p. ex. renseignement sur la santé)

Voici un aperçu des lois sur les renseignements personnels au Canada et des questions auxquelles elles s’appliquent.

Lois fédérales sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Au Canada, il y a deux lois fédérales sur la protection des renseignements personnels : la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels (LPRP), qui régit les pratiques de traitement des renseignements personnels des ministères et organismes fédéraux, et la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE), la loi fédérale sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui s’applique au secteur privé.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels confère aux personnes le droit d’avoir accès aux renseignements personnels les concernant qui sont détenus par le gouvernement du Canada et de demander que des corrections y soient apportées, et énonce la manière dont le gouvernement peut recueillir, utiliser et communiquer ces renseignements personnels dans le cadre de la prestation de services (p. ex. pensions de vieillesse ou assurance-emploi).

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels s’applique seulement aux institutions du gouvernement fédéral énumérées à l’Annexe – Institutions fédérales visées par la LPRP. Elle s’applique à tous les renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés et communiqués par le gouvernement fédéral, et ce, qu’ils concernent des particuliers ou des fonctionnaires fédéraux.

Il convient de noter que la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels ne s’applique pas aux partis politiques ni aux représentants politiques.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada surveille le respect de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques

La LPRPDE définit les règles applicables à la collecte, à l’utilisation et à la communication des renseignements personnels par les organisations du secteur privé dans le cadre d’activités commerciales au Canada. Elle s’applique également aux renseignements personnels relatifs aux employés des entreprises fédérales (organisations sous réglementation fédérale, comme les banques, les transporteurs aériens et les sociétés de télécommunications).

Il convient de noter que la LPRPDE ne s’applique pas aux organismes qui n’exercent pas une activité commerciale. Ainsi, elle ne s’applique habituellement pas aux organismes sans but lucratif et aux organismes de charité, pas plus qu’aux associations ou partis politiques — à moins que l’organisation concernée n’exerce une activité commerciale (la collecte de fonds n’est pas considérée comme une activité commerciale).

Elle ne s’applique pas non plus aux organismes qui exercent leurs activités exclusivement à l’intérieur d’une province qui s’est dotée d’une loi essentiellement similaire à la LPRPDE, à moins qu’il y ait un transfert interprovincial ou international de renseignements personnels. L’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec ont toutes les trois adopté une loi générale applicable au secteur privé qui est considérée comme étant essentiellement similaire à la loi fédérale (consulter la section suivante, intitulée « Lois provinciales sur la protection des renseignements personnels », pour plus d’information).

Par conséquent, la LPRPDE s’applique en général aux organisations suivantes :

  • organismes du secteur privé qui exercent des activités au Canada dans les provinces ou territoires suivants : Île-du-Prince-Édouard, Manitoba, Nouveau-Brunswick, Nouvelle-Écosse, Nunavut, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, Territoires du Nord-Ouest ou Yukon; mais pas en ce qui a trait au traitement des renseignements sur les employés;
  • organismes du secteur privé qui exercent des activités au Canada s’il y a transfert interprovincial ou international des renseignements personnels recueillis, utilisés ou communiqués; mais pas en ce qui a trait au traitement des renseignements sur les employés;
  • organismes sous réglementation fédérale qui exercent des activités au Canada, par exemple les banques, les transporteurs aériens, les compagnies de téléphone ou sociétés de radiodiffusion, y compris en ce qui a trait au traitement des renseignements sur la santé et concernant les employés.

Le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée du Canada surveille le respect de la LPRPDE.

Lois provinciales sur la protection des renseignements personnels

Chaque province ou territoire a promulgué une loi régissant la protection des renseignements personnels dans le secteur public et c’est cette loi qui s’applique aux organisations du gouvernement provincial, et non la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels.

Certaines provinces ont adopté des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui s’appliquent au secteur privé et qui sont considérées comme étant « essentiellement similaires » à la LPRPDE. Dans certains cas, ce sont ces lois qui s’appliquent au lieu de la LPRPDE. L’Alberta, la Colombie-Britannique et le Québec ont adopté des lois qui sont considérées comme « essentiellement similaires » à la LPRPDE et qui qui s’appliquent aux entreprises du secteur privé qui recueillent, utilisent et communiquent des renseignements personnels dans le cadre de leurs activités commerciales à l’intérieur de la province.

L’Ontario, le Nouveau-Brunswick et Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador ont adopté une loi en matière de protection de la vie privée afin de protéger les renseignements personnels sur la santé, laquelle a été reconnue comme étant essentiellement similaire à la LPRPDE en ce qui concerne les dépositaires de ces renseignements.

D’autres provinces et territoires ont également promulgué leurs propres lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé, mais ces lois n’ont pas été déclarées essentiellement similaires à la LPRPDE. C’est pourquoi, dans certains cas, c’est la LPRPDE qui continue de s’appliquer.

De plus, certaines provinces ont adopté des lois sur la protection des renseignements personnels qui s’appliquent aux renseignements sur les employés. À titre d’exemple, on pourrait citer :

Chaque province ou territoire du Canada a nommé un commissaire ou un ombudsman qui est responsable de surveiller le respect des lois provinciales ou territoriales sur la protection des renseignements personnels. Vous trouverez la liste de ces commissaires et ombudsmans sur notre site Web.

Lois régissant la protection des renseignements personnels qui sont propres à un secteur

Plusieurs lois fédérales et provinciales propres à un secteur contiennent des dispositions traitant de la protection des renseignements personnels.

À titre d'exemple, à l’échelon fédéral, la Loi sur les banques régit l'utilisation et la communication de renseignements personnels par des institutions financières fédérales.

La plupart des provinces ont adopté des lois traitant des rapports de solvabilité des consommateurs. En général, ces lois obligent les agences d'évaluation de crédit à veiller à l'exactitude des renseignements. Elles limitent la communication des renseignements et confèrent aux consommateurs le droit d’avoir accès aux renseignements et d’en contester l’exactitude.

Les lois provinciales régissant les caisses de crédit contiennent généralement des dispositions qui traitent de la confidentialité des renseignements sur les transactions de leurs membres.

Un grand nombre de lois provinciales contiennent des dispositions relatives à la confidentialité concernant les renseignements personnels recueillis par des membres de professions libérales.

Il est à noter que l’existence d’autres lois comportant des dispositions en matière de protection des renseignements personnels ne signifie pas nécessairement que la LPRPDE ne s’applique pas.

Pour plus de détails concernant les lois canadiennes sur la protection de la vie privée, voyez quelle organisation est la mieux placée pour vous aider.

Mise à jour en mai 2014